+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 41

Thread: Penn Foster

  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Ellijay, GA.
    Posts
    72

    AutoCAD Penn Foster

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I need help, I have been working on this project, Oleson Village Subdivision, I have restart it over twice, this is what I have now, yes I have read all thread that has been post, I guessing I'm on the slow side on learning how auto cad works, so here
    what I have doneproj05403900.pdf

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,176

    Default

    Hmmmm, judging by your blank pdf, it looks like you have done absolutely nothing. Maybe it's time to rethink your career choice?
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,502

    Default

    bracken2: Either try that PDF again or better yet post the DWG file like you did before.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Ellijay, GA.
    Posts
    72

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    bracken2: Either try that PDF again or better yet post the DWG file like you did before.
    ok, it will not let me send it to you, I'm trying another way,

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Ellijay, GA.
    Posts
    72

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Ellijay, GA.
    Posts
    72

    Default

    I have been working on this projects, to the point I have to walk away from my computer. sorry u did not get copy

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,502

    Default

    I see that the PDF file is really the outline describing the project itself.

    I'll have to fire up my CAD computer to see your drawing. I am on my laptop at the moment. It's CAD-free.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,502

    Default

    I have opened your drawing and compared it to a version done by a forum Penn Foster student and present member of this forum. There seems to be some differences.

    You say you have started this project twice. What types of problems are you having? Please be specific.

    Are you having trouble understanding what is being asked of you?

    Are you having trouble deciding what is the best way, using AutoCAD, to accomplish some specific task?

    Are you trying to do something but don't know which command you should be using or what the command might be called?

    I noticed that the precision on your Surveyor's Units is set to N 0d E when it should be set to N 0d00'00" E since that is how the data is provided to you in the instructions.

    What happened to your TREE block? I inserted it and got something rather unusual looking. The tree is supposed to be 15 feet in diameter.
    Last edited by ReMark; 29th Jul 2011 at 09:55 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #9
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,502

    Default

    There is a gap of 4.79 between the line that is 542.16, N39d-16'-46"E and the one that is 676.62, N87d-28'-25"W. This pushes everything west 4.79. This needs to be corrected.

    The last line that takes you back to the starting point is supposed to be angled to the northeast. Your line is dead flat. This needs to be corrected as well.

    Lots 1, 2 and 3 and drawn incorrectly. The instructions say the lots are 60x120. That means they are rectangles. The east and west property lines should both be 60 feet. While you have correctly shown the east property line of lot 1 as being 60 feet the westerly lot line measures 65.51 feet. You have reproduced this same error in lots 2 and 3.

    You mistakenly used the centerline of SW Village Lane as the southern ROW line thus your road is not located properly. The centerline of the road is supposed to have a radius of 55 feet where it bends. Once this is done you can pedit the two lines and arc and join them as one polyline entity. Then it is just a matter of offsetting the centerline 25 feet to either side. This will give you the full 50 feet ROW for SW Village Lane.

    You mistakenly used a radius of 20 instead of 30 at the intersection of SW Village Lane and SW 85th Avenue. You need to pay more attention to what is being asked in the instructions.

    Re: Lot 6. The property line that is supposed to be 23.06 is drawn at the wrong angle.

    Lots 7 and 8 are missing.

    This is pretty much the extent of my review. I followed the exact same instructions you were given and produced a drawing of my own overlaid on top of yours so I could see where the differences might be. I stopped when I got to the insertion of the first TREE block (R1) as called for on page 10. I'll post an image separately.
    Last edited by ReMark; 30th Jul 2011 at 11:57 am.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #10
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,502

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Note: I have overlaid my drawing (all in yellow) on yours.

    proj 05403900 [ReMark].jpg

    I'm not all that pleased with the way this looks on my computer. I hope it displays better for others.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Penn Foster Career School
    By acbunker in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 4th Nov 2014, 12:00 pm
  2. Penn Foster Drafting with Autocad
    By sethtb1 in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 27th Dec 2012, 05:02 pm
  3. Need Help with Penn & Foster exams
    By robxfinch in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 13th Nov 2012, 08:14 pm
  4. Penn Foster forum maybe?
    By Jack_O'neill in forum Feedback
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 22nd Apr 2012, 03:35 pm
  5. Penn Foster Alumnae
    By BIGMIKE09281946 in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 27th Sep 2009, 03:47 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts