+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    MEP 2012
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Workspaces in Autocad MEP 2012

    I just got my 2012 update for Revit MEP. Which comes with Autocad MEP Imperial, Metric, Global, Inventor Fusion and Autocad design review.

    My question is where is my MEP workspaces now? When I'm in Autocad MEP 2012 the workspaces show as Drafting and Annotation, 3D Basics, 3D Modeling, Autocad Classic, 2D drafting and annotation - Migrated from Autocad MEP 2011, 3D Modeling - Migrated from Autocad MEP 2011.

    My MEP 2011 version workspaces were: Electrical, HVAC, Piping, Plumbing and Schematic.

    Where do I find the electrical workspace or do I need to create a custom one?

  2. #2
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2014
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,448

    Default

    You're probably in the wrong Profile. Type WORKSPACE at the command line, then SE to bring up the Workspace Settings dialog box. Are there any of the typical MEP Workspaces there? If not then you may check the Profiles tab in Options to see if you're in the vanilla AutoCAD profile.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    MEP 2012
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I tried that it didn't work. I contacted Autodesk they told me to do this:

    1. Close AutoCAD MEP
    2. Click on the Windows Start button
    3. Go to All Programs
    4. Go to the Autodesk folder
    5. Go to AutoCAD MEP 2012 folder
    6. Choose Reset Settings to Default

    It worked.
    Thanks, for the reply i was totally lost.

  4. #4
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2014
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,448

    Default

    Ah, the 'ol "reset settings to default" option. Gotta love it. Used it a time or two in the past, that's for sure.

  5. #5
    Full Member idllc's Avatar
    Computer Details
    idllc's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WINDOWS 7 Ultimate
    Computer:
    DELL
    CPU:
    i7
    RAM:
    12G DDR3
    Monitor:
    Dual 28"
    Using
    MEP 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Posts
    70

    Default

    I personally have found changing work spaces more trouble than it's worth. I have never seen the benifit, but then again I am no expert.
    "Get with it, get Integrated" Integrated Design LLC Tulsa, Oklahoma

  6. #6
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2014
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,448

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by idllc View Post
    I personally have found changing work spaces more trouble than it's worth. I have never seen the benifit, but then again I am no expert.
    Really? I live and die by customizing different Workspaces. I freaking love it. It's like having multiple version of AutoCAD and with the click of a button you instantly can access a whole other interface of tools and options.

    For instance, I have my "MEP" Workspace, then I have my normal "gotta-draw-really-fast-in-2D-only" Workspace.

  7. #7
    Full Member idllc's Avatar
    Computer Details
    idllc's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WINDOWS 7 Ultimate
    Computer:
    DELL
    CPU:
    i7
    RAM:
    12G DDR3
    Monitor:
    Dual 28"
    Using
    MEP 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Posts
    70

    Default

    Maybe there is somthing I'm not using? I just use the "Right Click" on the AMEP "Tool Palette, and change between HVAC / Piping /Electrical...etc.
    But hey, I still use Toolbars

    [IMG]file:///C:/Users/shawn/AppData/Local/Temp/SNAGHTML25d2db0.PNG[/IMG]
    "Get with it, get Integrated" Integrated Design LLC Tulsa, Oklahoma

  8. #8
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2014
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,448

    Default

    No that's Tool Palettes, not Workspaces.

    Lower right of the interface, look for the "Elevation: +0'-0"" tool. To the left three icons is the gear icon, which is your Workspaces. Do a search for them in the Help file, good documentation there.

  9. #9
    Full Member idllc's Avatar
    Computer Details
    idllc's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WINDOWS 7 Ultimate
    Computer:
    DELL
    CPU:
    i7
    RAM:
    12G DDR3
    Monitor:
    Dual 28"
    Using
    MEP 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Posts
    70

    Default

    Okay, maybe this is a Dumb question, but what's the difference between piping workspace and HVAC workspace. Is there somthing that I cant do from a Piping stand point while having the HVAC workspace loaded?
    "Get with it, get Integrated" Integrated Design LLC Tulsa, Oklahoma

  10. #10
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2014
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,448

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by idllc View Post
    Okay, maybe this is a Dumb question, but what's the difference between piping workspace and HVAC workspace. Is there somthing that I cant do from a Piping stand point while having the HVAC workspace loaded?
    No such thing as a dumb question with me!!

    You can technically access everything from any Workspace. It's just the arrangement of tools, ribbons, palettes, etc. That's what a Workspace is. Basically, the interface. You position things, add or manipulate things from the CUI editor, etc. Then you type WSSAVE and name it. You have to think outside of the box for it to be beneficial because customized Workspaces need to fit your needs in a most efficient manner.

Similar Threads

  1. Switching workspaces in AutoCAD 2009
    By CAD Panacea in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25th Mar 2008, 07:50 pm
  2. Workspaces in AutoCAD 2008
    By AutoCAD Insider in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th Apr 2007, 05:20 pm
  3. An AutoCAD Hip Tip on Workspaces
    By Lynn Allen's Blog in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 21st Sep 2006, 03:22 am
  4. Workspaces in Autocad 2005
    By Turnipboy in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12th Jan 2006, 02:27 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts