Help requested! Want a Lisp routine that loads a prefix dwg and changes layers to it

yonderbob

Greetings all,

I'd like to start by thanking you for taking the time to read my question and awnser it if you can.

Hello, i'm a lisp newbie and need the following program/Lisp routine:

I want it to Load a predefined dwg file where i have all the layers/attributes preset into a different drawing (the one where i want to use the routine in) and then change all the layers in this drawing to the ones i preset in the predefined Dwg. The layers in the predefined dwg file have a different name then the ones in the drawing i want to change. So i want it to link certain layers in this drawing to the one i predefined in the other. This way it is easier for me to make changes, then i only have to edit my predefined dwg and not the code.

Hope you understand what i mean and can help me with the right code/commands i need.

Thanks in advance.

bob

Welcome to the forum yonderbob

I would think template (dwt) and laytrans would be enough to accomplish what you need wihtout the need for a lisp code. depending on your layer naming convention, you may need to set this up just one time

Play around with this and decide if you still have a need for a code

Cheers

Thank you for your awnser pBe,

But i do want the lisp code, because i want to simplify things for my colleges.

I just want them to press 1 button and Done, because i will add alot more things to the code, i just want to start with this.

Thanks,

Bob

I want it to Load a predefined dwg file where i have all the layers/attributes preset into a different drawing (the one where i want to use the routine in) ....

Would you rather do it the other way around?

Load the target drawing into the template with the preset layes/attributes.

You need to remember when importing "stuff" into a existing drawing, blocks(attributes)/layers with the same name will follow the currents' , so by doing it the other way would be a better approach