+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: bend

  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    Inventor 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    34

    Default bend

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I`m not able to add a .3mm fillet to a part containing Bends.What do i need to change so as to get the fillet to work on the entire modelbend.ipt?.Model made with Inventor 2012.
    Cheers
    TBorland
    Last edited by TonyBorland; 5th Aug 2011 at 04:11 pm.

  2. #2
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,725

    Default

    I would start by reading this document. http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/skillsusa%20university.pdf
    I noticed that your first sketch isn't constrained - even though you placed at origin. This should be automatic.

    It was also unclear to me where you were trying to add the fillet - I am able to fillet the entire part?
    (pull down EOP in attached file)
    Attached Files
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Using
    Inventor 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Cheers...i was using Loop select
    Would this part be better made with sheetmetal?
    It was the 1st time i use the bend command....does the bend feature always leave segments where the part is bent?
    Tony B

  4. #4
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,725

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TonyBorland View Post
    Cheers...i was using Loop select
    Would this part be better made with sheetmetal?
    I would have modeled as-folded to the finished dimensions, probably as a trimmed surface and then Thicken.
    It could also be modeled from sheet metal.
    I would have used either of these techniques rather than the Bend as you did.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Using
    Inventor 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    OK thanks JD
    If time permits would you be able to give examples of - I would have modeled as-folded to the finished dimensions, probably as a trimmed surface and then Thicken and sheet metal....as mentioned that was the 1st time i used Bend feature so seeing other ways of making Bend features will assist in me modelling better
    Cheers,
    Tony B
    Inventor 2012 EDU

Similar Threads

  1. Help) How can I bend a 3d
    By Mr guiff in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 24th Sep 2010, 11:11 pm
  2. How to bend it...
    By nikhil in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 83
    Last Post: 25th Aug 2010, 09:36 am
  3. How to bend an object?
    By Crazy J in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 3rd Mar 2010, 01:53 pm
  4. Bend Tables
    By robertf in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 9th Mar 2009, 11:39 pm
  5. How do I bend a rectangle?
    By jlovgren in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 21st Jan 2009, 06:49 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts