+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2

    Idea Dimensions next to line while drawing

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello, new to the forum.

    I have recently gotten Autocad 2012 and played around. I am trying to figure out how to make the dimensions of a line that you are currently drawing show up in standard units (feet inches). Right now it shows up as numbers with decimals. I tried DIMSTYLE but couldn't figure out what to change.

  2. #2
    Super Member kencaz's Avatar
    Computer Details
    kencaz's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro, Vista, Linux,W7
    Computer:
    HP,s Dell
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    kencaz's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Designer/Machinist
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    759

    Default

    Command: UNITS
    Some of my AutoCAD and Inventor Pics and Videos...
    http://www.youtube.com/kencaz45



  3. #3
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    2,826

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kencaz View Post
    Command: UNITS

    More specifically, UNITS > Length type > Architectural
    ... and then when you get around to adding dimensions, then you'll go into DIMSTYLE and change "Primary Units" to Architectural as well.

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,715

    Default

    Don't forget to set your Precision while you are in the UNITS dialog box.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    thanks guys, works perfectly

Similar Threads

  1. Dimensions going all over the place after trimming a line
    By ARConnaghan in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22nd Mar 2011, 02:35 pm
  2. On using LINE R on the COMMAND LINE for drawing a straight line
    By Jawahar Vidyalaya in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 7th Sep 2010, 03:54 pm
  3. Multi-Line Dimensions
    By fifeger83 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th Mar 2009, 03:25 pm
  4. Vertical Dimensions Above Dim Line
    By Bill Tillman in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2nd Nov 2008, 10:57 pm
  5. Drawing a parallel line to unknown angled existing line
    By berol in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29th Aug 2006, 12:06 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts