+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Forum Deity MSasu's Avatar
    Discipline
    Construction
    MSasu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    engineer
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    AutoLISP programmer
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brasov, Romania
    Posts
    3,942

    Default Diameter symbol for Excel export

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I’m exporting some data from AutoCAD to an Excel file by AutoLISP code. Since I need the diameter symbol along with other exported data I have generated it by <Alt>+0216 and pasted in code. When the Excel is exported on one workstation it isn’t rendered correctly – it appear like an “r” character instead. However the user of that station say that he use the same above combination of keys when need to write the symbol.

    Does someone know a solution for this? Thank you!

    Regards,
    Mircea

  2. #2
    Senior Member LibertyOne's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    172

    Default

    Try using <ALT>+0248 instead and test it to see if you get better results.

  3. #3
    Forum Deity MSasu's Avatar
    Discipline
    Construction
    MSasu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    engineer
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    AutoLISP programmer
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brasov, Romania
    Posts
    3,942

    Default

    Thank you for your answer - I will try it.

    Regards,
    Mircea

  4. #4
    Forum Deity Tharwat's Avatar
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Tharwat's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    MEP AutoCAD Draftsman
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    HVAC, Drainage, Water Supply, Fire Fighting and a little about Electrical.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Great Syria , Lives in Abu Dhabi
    Posts
    3,870

    Default

    <Alt>+0216 and <ALT>+0248 are the same if the default language is English, but if not , the symbol would be different .
    - When aim is being settled in my mind , I have to reach it and get it in hand whatever it costs and wherever it is and will never give up . Tharwat said

  5. #5
    Forum Deity MSasu's Avatar
    Discipline
    Construction
    MSasu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    engineer
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    AutoLISP programmer
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brasov, Romania
    Posts
    3,942

    Default

    What realy confuse me is that <Alt>+0216 had the same result both on my and his workstation – the difference appear only when the character is generated programmatically.

    Regards,
    Mircea

  6. #6
    Forum Deity Tharwat's Avatar
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Tharwat's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    MEP AutoCAD Draftsman
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    HVAC, Drainage, Water Supply, Fire Fighting and a little about Electrical.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Great Syria , Lives in Abu Dhabi
    Posts
    3,870

    Default

    I think because there is not Alt press while exporting data or strings to Excel sheet .
    - When aim is being settled in my mind , I have to reach it and get it in hand whatever it costs and wherever it is and will never give up . Tharwat said

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic Lee Mac's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Lee Mac's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate (32-bit)
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Lee Mac's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Custom Programming / Software Customisation
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    16,785

    Default

    Maybe:

    Code:
    (chr 248)  =  "ø"
    (chr 216)  =  "Ø"
    
    (print "\370")  =  "ø"
    (print "\330")  =  "Ø"
    Lee Mac ProgrammingTwitterExchange App StoreDropbox (500MB free)

    With Mathematics there is the possibility of perfect rigour, so why settle for less?

  8. #8
    Forum Deity MSasu's Avatar
    Discipline
    Construction
    MSasu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    engineer
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    AutoLISP programmer
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brasov, Romania
    Posts
    3,942

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Sorry for my delayed answer, but I had to wait for my pal to check this on his trouble-maker workstation. Unfortunately, none of the above suggested solutions have worked – the diameter symbol is still wrong displayed.
    I really don’t know what to do on this matter...
    Thank you again for your support.

    Regards,
    Mircea

Similar Threads

  1. Export to Excel
    By blotty in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 13th Jan 2011, 07:26 am
  2. Find/Replace not recognizing diameter symbol
    By EnderM3 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th Aug 2010, 01:40 pm
  3. How to remove the diameter symbol?
    By GeeN in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 17th Feb 2009, 03:29 am
  4. export dwg to excel
    By SK in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18th Apr 2006, 01:33 pm
  5. get rid of diameter symbol with out exploding?
    By Ed G in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 14th Sep 2005, 08:10 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts