+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23
  1. #11
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Tony D's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7, Home Premium, 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP TouchSmart 300 1330
    Motherboard:
    Pegatron, APP78-CF
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon II X2 240e
    RAM:
    4 GB
    Graphics:
    Integrated ATI Radeon HD3200, shares memory with system
    Primary Storage:
    ST350041 8AS SATA 500 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    4.7 GB
    Monitor:
    This is an HP Al-in-One Computer 300 1330, I have another monitor which is a Sceptre.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Sahuarita, AZ
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by SLW210 View Post
    The 1/2" Fillet (the T is pronounced) weld should be done with chamfer not a fillet.

    I looked closer and see that chamfer is called out for all of the holes as well..
    Per practice problem drawing "The Hub Plate" there is a note stating: 1/2 Fillet Weld with an arrow pointing to the weld. That's odd that the weld calls for a fillet whereas, the four holes at each corner calls for a chamfer.

    Quote Originally Posted by SLW210 View Post
    What course/school is this? I will move this to the Student Project Questions sub-forum.
    It is an online course offered by worldclasscad.com.

  2. #12
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,725

    Default

    A FILLET WELD and the radiusing of a corner (FILLET) have nothing in common except the word "fillet" pronounced two different ways. If a placed a fish on the sink and told you to fillet the fish would you weld it, round its corners or take a knife to it.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  3. #13
    Full Member Stryker1989's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Stryker1989's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro
    Discipline
    P&ID
    Stryker1989's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Apprentice Instrument Design Engineer
    Discipline
    P&ID
    Details
    Involved in the draughting of various instrumentation diagrams including P&ID's, Cable Diagrams, Loops Diagrams and Hook Up's among others
    Using
    AutoCAD 2000i
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Middlesbrough, UK
    Posts
    49

    Default

    You can see from the attached PDF that the weld is a chamfer not a fillet as it is a straight line and not a curve like a fillet would produce and has been shown.

    And yeah it is much simpler doing it in 3D mate.

  4. #14
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SLW210 View Post
    The 1/2" Fillet (the T is pronounced) weld should be done with chamfer not a fillet.

    I looked closer and see that chamfer is called out for all of the holes as well.

    What course/school is this? I will move this to the Student Project Questions sub-forum.
    Ok, so I drew the fillet with a fillet instead of chamfer...sue me .
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

  5. #15
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,725

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jack_O'neill View Post
    Ok, so I drew the fillet with a fillet instead of chamfer...sue me .
    My lawyer needs your mailing address.


    I visited this thread 3 times before I noticed.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  6. #16
    Super Member qball's Avatar
    Discipline
    Structural
    qball's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Structural
    Details
    Structural / Architectural, Residential, Multi-family, Industrial, Wood frame, Steel, Masonry, Concrete, Tilt-up
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Kelowna, Canada
    Posts
    741

    Default

    fillet weld
    fillet in autocad
    filet a fish (pronounced filay)
    filet mignon
    I don't have a catchy signature

  7. #17
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,719

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tony D View Post
    To: JD Mather,
    To answer your question the Instructor wants us to do the drawing using polylines.
    The instructor needs to go back to school - he/she is teaching you obsolete 20yr old techniques.
    And the drawing is incorrect - the crosshatch should be going in different directions and missing lines (two parts welded together).
    If I get a chance I will post an image of a solution using a modern MCAD software (Autodesk Inventor).
    Students can download next-generation CAD tools like Inventor for free from http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  8. #18
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JD Mather View Post
    The instructor needs to go back to school - he/she is teaching you obsolete 20yr old techniques.
    And the drawing is incorrect - the crosshatch should be going in different directions and missing lines (two parts welded together).
    That ain't all that wrong with it. Look how out of scale the mount holes are. Text says 3/16"...they are drawn closer to 3/8" looks like to me.
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

  9. #19
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Tony D's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7, Home Premium, 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP TouchSmart 300 1330
    Motherboard:
    Pegatron, APP78-CF
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon II X2 240e
    RAM:
    4 GB
    Graphics:
    Integrated ATI Radeon HD3200, shares memory with system
    Primary Storage:
    ST350041 8AS SATA 500 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    4.7 GB
    Monitor:
    This is an HP Al-in-One Computer 300 1330, I have another monitor which is a Sceptre.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Sahuarita, AZ
    Posts
    31

    Default Dimensioning a circle in isometric view

    I can't find anywhere in autocad help about dimension a circle in isometric (clicked on ellipse icon on the draw section of the home panel) view. Is there any way you can dimension a circle in isometric view?


    Tony

  10. #20
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,370

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I'd do the whole thing in 3D then set up an isometric view in a paper space viewport.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Dimensions on a isometric circle
    By 30144683 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 18th Jan 2011, 04:51 am
  2. View Isometric 3D and Its 2D Views( Top, Elevation and front View) !!
    By basiony in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 7th Dec 2010, 04:22 pm
  3. Dimensioning in isometric
    By Wilbri in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 14th May 2010, 09:24 am
  4. isometric align dimensioning
    By bdr2k5 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 27th Apr 2010, 06:35 pm
  5. Circle-Isometric Snap
    By Shibuboss in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 26th Aug 2009, 01:41 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts