Understanding Scaling in Autocad - seems arbitrary?

ottocad

I am very new to Autocad. Last time I used it was around 1996 and it is a whole new beast today. I am using Autocad 2012 at the moment.

I need to submit a metric drawing for a proposed borehole amongst utilities that I have been forwarded in .dwg format. The scale needs to be 1:250. I have copied and pasted the utilities information into a new drawing, where I've added my borehole with dimensions, company title block, and some additional notation.

In a system where scaling seems to be varied by zooming, plotting, and drawing - how do I achieve 1:250 scale for submission of this plan?

Thanks! Any clarification needed please don't hesitate to ask. I need help!!

Forum Sample Proposed Borehole DWG 2806-1.dwg

If you are planning to print from Paper Space, you can set the scale in the model view of it. Or if you print from model space, you can set the scale in the Plot settings. If you don't see your scale, feel free to type it in.

I have submitted this drawing already, and it was rejected because it 'wasn't to scale'. It seems that if the scale can be set upon plotting that the professionals receiving my drawing wouldn't have a problem with it.

When I try to plot at a scale of 1:250 (to a regular letter-sized printer) I get a blank sheet, after the plot dialogue warns me that the annotation scale does not match the plot scale....

I have submitted this drawing already, and it was rejected because it 'wasn't to scale'. It seems that if the scale can be set upon plotting that the professionals receiving my drawing wouldn't have a problem with it.

When I try to plot at a scale of 1:250 (to a regular letter-sized printer) I get a blank sheet, after the plot dialogue warns me that the annotation scale does not match the plot scale....

When I print it out as 1:250 (assumed drawn to scale), the drawing is like the size of a half dollar on a piece of paper. The annotation scale is explained here: