+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    JamFam's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Pro 32 bit
    Using
    Architecture 2011
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    135

    Default Quick & simple work area setup tips needed

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I am currently trying to learn AutoCAD 2000. I am new to AutoCAD, and I am trying to understand the work area setup process. I will be printing out on a regular sheet of paper 8 1/2" X 11". The scale I am presently working at will be 3"=1' based on the full scale drawing size of the material I am working on. I will be working at various scales in both imperial (English) sizes and metric at other times, but for this question lets use the 3"=1' scale. Ultimately what I want to be able to do is after AutoCAD loads and I am prompted to start a new sheet I want to be able to have a few prescaled work area sheets to choose from, but I am confused about what the basic steps are to setup my first drawing. I have a book called Mastering AutoCAD by George Omura and though the book has good information, I am somewhat confused and unsure about the work area setup steps.

    Can you help or point me in the direction where I can find additional help?.

    Kindest Regards

  2. #2
    Super Moderator fuccaro's Avatar
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    fuccaro's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Mechanical eng.
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Romania, Marosvasarhely
    Posts
    3,577

    Default

    Hello!
    Never ever draw at scale!
    Always create your drawings at scale 1:1 and scale them up or down when it comes to plot them.
    When start a new drawing you may chose to start from a scratch. You select metric or imperial and begin to draw.
    Your units are not important: you may use millimeters or kilometers if you wish -as long as you are consequent
    When plotting you choose a paper size and scale the drawing to fit to that size.

    Welcome in the our forum!
    It's nice to be nice, but sometimes is nicer to be evil!
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    JamFam's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Pro 32 bit
    Using
    Architecture 2011
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    135

    Default

    Thank you.
    If I am understanding you correctly, you are saying that my full scale drawing is just that, 1:1 and not scaled at the initial drawing stage,
    and at this point do I need to concern myself with setting up the "drawing limits"? or can this along with scaling of the drawing be done when I am finished creating my image?

    Thank you for replying and providing me with your assistance.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Ako's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Warrington UK
    Posts
    309

    Default

    Can I suggest that even though you are new to AutoCad you read up on layouts. This is the best way to plot your drawings and a scale is achieved by zooming up or down within a viewport to a specific magnification. As fuccaro said, you draw at 1:1, and if you use layouts and viewports you can then plot at 1:1.

    In a nutshell a layout contains your title block (which is drawn to fit on the paper you are using). Within this layout and inside your title block, viewports are drawn (which are windows looking at your model). These viewports are then zoomed to a scale and the layer they are on is switched off. At the end you just plot the title block.

    Dave

  5. #5
    Full Member youflyifix's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Alexandria VA
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Sometimes new CAD folks have trouble understanding that model space is basically an infinite area to work in. Your layout or paper space is just that. Itís the area of the paper you are plotting to. You always draw objects to a ďreal lifeĒ one to one. When I have done some beginners training in the past I have found a lot of people have trouble with this basic CAD concept. Donít worry the more you use it the easier it becomes.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    JamFam's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Pro 32 bit
    Using
    Architecture 2011
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    135

    Default

    Thanks for all the assistance.

    I am presently reviewing questions about Layout, and I think I can find answers to some of my questions there.

    I will come back to this forum because of the prompt and useful assistance I received.

    Thanks to all

  7. #7
    Super Moderator fuccaro's Avatar
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    fuccaro's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Mechanical eng.
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Romania, Marosvasarhely
    Posts
    3,577

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JamFam
    I will come back to this forum because of the prompt and useful assistance I received.
    Don't hesitate to ask. We are here to help each other.
    This is a nice place, isn't it?
    It's nice to be nice, but sometimes is nicer to be evil!
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator fuccaro's Avatar
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    fuccaro's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Mechanical eng.
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Romania, Marosvasarhely
    Posts
    3,577

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JamFam
    I will come back to this forum because of the prompt and useful assistance I received.
    Don't hesitate to ask. We are here to help each other.
    This is a nice place, isn't it?
    It's nice to be nice, but sometimes is nicer to be evil!
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.

  9. #9
    Forum Deity
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Posts
    2,074

    Default

    Apparently it's twice as nice!

  10. #10
    Super Moderator fuccaro's Avatar
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    fuccaro's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Mechanical eng.
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Romania, Marosvasarhely
    Posts
    3,577

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Thanks CarlB!
    The connexion is very slow this morning and probably I clicked twice the SUBMIT. Now I hawe to go back and check the other posts I sent today...
    It's nice to be nice, but sometimes is nicer to be evil!
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts