+ Reply to Thread
    Computer Details
    JamFam's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Pro 32 bit
    Using
    Architecture 2011

Default Quick & simple work area setup tips needed

Registered forum members do not see this ad.

I am currently trying to learn AutoCAD 2000. I am new to AutoCAD, and I am trying to understand the work area setup process. I will be printing out on a regular sheet of paper 8 1/2" X 11". The scale I am presently working at will be 3"=1' based on the full scale drawing size of the material I am working on. I will be working at various scales in both imperial (English) sizes and metric at other times, but for this question lets use the 3"=1' scale. Ultimately what I want to be able to do is after AutoCAD loads and I am prompted to start a new sheet I want to be able to have a few prescaled work area sheets to choose from, but I am confused about what the basic steps are to setup my first drawing. I have a book called Mastering AutoCAD by George Omura and though the book has good information, I am somewhat confused and unsure about the work area setup steps.

Can you help or point me in the direction where I can find additional help?.

Kindest Regards

Discipline
    Mechanical
    fuccaro's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Mechanical eng.
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006

Hello!
    Never ever draw at scale!
    Always create your drawings at scale 1:1 and scale them up or down when it comes to plot them.
    When start a new drawing you may chose to start from a scratch. You select metric or imperial and begin to draw.
    Your units are not important: you may use millimeters or kilometers if you wish -as long as you are consequent
    When plotting you choose a paper size and scale the drawing to fit to that size.

Welcome in the our forum!
    It's nice to be nice, but sometimes is nicer to be evil!