+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 38
  1. #11
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,725

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I think the majority of questions asked here could be answered with only one response if the OPs would simply attach the data.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  2. #12
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    MisterJingles's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Intel Core i7
    CPU:
    4.00GHz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX970
    Using
    Mechanical 2016
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    533

    Default

    JD - I think I agree with you, will bear it in mind for future.

    ReMark - Is there any way I could have given the elevation a value other than inputting it manually? I most certainly didn't input it myself.
    Also, I work in LT, I therefore can't view it in any 3D view whatsoever right?

    Thanks CyberAngel sorry to dismiss your suggestion , I just dont understand how I did this.
    Don't forget your towel!

  3. #13
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,501

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JD Mather View Post
    I think the majority of questions asked here could be answered with only one response if the OPs would simply attach the data.
    That would be much too easy. We'd have to spend the rest of our time talking about politics and religion.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #14
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,501

    Default

    MJ: Did you check to see what the value for ELEVATION is current set at?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #15
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    MisterJingles's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Intel Core i7
    CPU:
    4.00GHz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX970
    Using
    Mechanical 2016
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    533

    Default

    Yes I did, your figures were spot on. My question is how could the ELEVATION have been changed to 4.806 for the one end if I didn't consciously do that myself?
    Its not like the value "4.806" is appropriate anywhere else on the drawing which may lead me to believe I had set my cursor focus in the wrong place. And besides, I had 3 or 4 instances of this on the same drawing. It just doesn't make sense to me. But then what do I know?
    Don't forget your towel!

  6. #16
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,501

    Default

    I have no idea. I just try to help with fixing problems. I'm puzzled how half of the problems that are posted here are caused in the first place. I can count on one hand the number of problems I've had over the past six releases I've installed. Some people experience three times that many in one release. Damned if I know how they manage to do it. One of the mysteries of CAD life I guess.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #17
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    MisterJingles's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Intel Core i7
    CPU:
    4.00GHz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX970
    Using
    Mechanical 2016
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    533

    Default

    Sure, but bear in mind you have the know-how to solve your own problems. Users like myself are still getting there, next time I will solve this issue on my own.
    Ill blame this one on the receptionist fiddling with my CAD whilst I was out. That's my story and I'm sticking to it.
    Don't forget your towel!

  8. #18
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,501

    Default

    I wasn't born with that know-how and I've made plenty of mistakes of my own on the way to gaining it. And I still make mistakes. I'm not perfect but I do keep trying.

    You created this drawing from scratch? You did not inherit it from someone else who may have been using a full version of AutoCAD?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #19
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,725

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MisterJingles View Post
    That's my story and I'm sticking to it.
    I assume LT has the LIST command (LI) it will become your friend in figuring stuff out like this (as well as Properties).

    (F2 is another good one - IF you use it right after you discover unusual behavior.)
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  10. #20
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    3,444

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by MisterJingles View Post
    My question is how could the ELEVATION have been changed to 4.806 for the one end if I didn't consciously do that myself?
    It may be possible that when you moved, copied, or grip edited something, you accidentally used a comma instead of a period, resulting in an unintended elevation change. ie. keying in 2,5,5 when you intended to key in 2,5.5. I'm not saying that's what happened, but it's a possibility.

Similar Threads

  1. joining a tube
    By bikoy in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 8th Dec 2008, 01:29 am
  2. Joining polyline and arc
    By Barclay in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 16th Nov 2007, 03:56 pm
  3. Joining HHS tubes in 3D
    By robbie in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15th Nov 2007, 12:30 am
  4. joining 3d faces
    By spyace in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 28th Aug 2003, 09:10 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts