Accidentally sketched in multiple planes

Steve-O

Long story short, I am new to the 3D capabilities of AutoCAD 2012 and I have somehow managed to place items from my 2D layout sketch onto multiple planes in the Z axis. Again, this was on accident. I have not clue how I managed to do this.

How can I remedy this? Is there a way to project one plane onto the other, and then delete the original to get all of the features back on the same plane? What keystrokes must I have hit to cause this to happen?

Any thoughts?

Sketch? Planes?

This sounds like an Autodesk Inventor question - not an Autodesk AutoCAD question, but perhaps Flatten is what you are looking for.

Can you attach the file here?

there are multiple ways to have managed this so awnsering how you did it may be difficult, if its all on the same plane you can move it the distance required to get the z to zero, or you can use flatten, incase your unfamiliar its a lisp routine that sets everything you select to zero, it should be easy enough to find a free copy with a simple google search.

This sounds like an Autodesk Inventor question - not an Autodesk AutoCAD question, but perhaps Flatten is what you are looking for.

apperantly everything is an inventor question to you ......

Sketch? Planes?

Can you attach the file here?

Definitally using AutoCAD, not inventor.

I noticed the issue when pulling dimensions using "dist". The dimension should have been 6", but it was returning a measurement of 247'. On a hunch, I switched to an isometric view and sure enough, a handful of the features ended up on a plane 247' away in the Z axis.

apparently everything is an inventor question to you ......

Your right, it could have been a SolidWorks or Pro/E question as these are standard default terms in parametric software.

SWx.png

Your right, it could have been a SolidWorks or Pro/E question as these are standard default terms in parametric software.