+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default DraftSight: help drawing rectangle at an angle

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello,

    I had to join the site to ask as google didnt bring much help.

    Basically trying to draw a rectangle at an angle of 80 degrees from the blue vertical line. Rectangle should be in the position where the blackline is drawn.

    Any advice or help is much appreciated.

    Thank you

    Pic:

    angle.jpg

  2. #2
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    There are an assortment of ways to do that. You could draw the rectangle in x and y, then rotate it into position. You could draw a single line, rotate it into position, then offset the first line what ever distance you need, then connect the ends. All sorts of ways to do it. Either of these involve the rotate command. Check the Command Reference in the help file for instructions on using rotate.
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,501

    Default

    Does Draftsight have a SNAPANG command?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Does Draftsight have a SNAPANG command?
    There is, but it's undocumented in the help files, and for some reason I can't get it to work properly. Setting snapang to 80 in autocad does exactly what the OP is trying to do. Setting snapang to 80 in draftsight causes it to draw a line 84° away from vertical. if i set it to 90, it draws a line at 27° from horizontal. Think they got a bug in that command, which may be why it's undocumented.
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

  5. #5
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,058

    Default

    Perhaps the angles are radians, and not degrees

  6. #6
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eldon View Post
    Perhaps the angles are radians, and not degrees

    Good suggestion, but no, it's set for decimal degrees.
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

  7. #7
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,058

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jack_O'neill View Post
    Good suggestion, but no, it's set for decimal degrees.
    Perhaps it is not picking up on the decimal degrees, because 90radians = 5156.6° = 116.6° (when subtracting n x 360), and 80 radians = 4583.7° = 263.7°.
    These angles are very close to those directions you were reporting

  8. #8
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 10 (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,571

    Default

    Just as easy to draw it and then rotate IMHO.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  9. #9
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by f700es View Post
    Just as easy to draw it and then rotate IMHO.

    Agreed. That's why I suggested that first. And at least "rotate" works properly. I've dug into that snapang thing and can not make it work properly. As I said previously, the command is undocumented in the help files, so I suspect it just ain't ready for prime time yet.
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

  10. #10
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    You can rotate the ucs, or rather the ccs in draftsight by whatever angle is needed and that will work correctly. Don't know whats up with snapang.
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

Similar Threads

  1. problem drawing rectangle
    By rsc7227 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 2nd Jun 2011, 03:58 pm
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th Oct 2010, 12:16 pm
  3. drawing rectangle for text
    By blueshake in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2nd Oct 2010, 01:23 pm
  4. Line will not angle in DraftSight?
    By Shiro in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 17th Sep 2010, 12:22 am
  5. Drawing a Rectangle
    By CADGT in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 1st Nov 2007, 02:07 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts