+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1

    Drawing how to draw the elevation

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    my school tell me to draw elevation
    4 elevation
    but i dont understand howto make that
    can some body help me pliss
    so confused

    this files is this :
    new plan(2).dwg
    just the boys room elevations
    not all
    please somebody help me
    i very2 confused
    need
    tq before

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,369

    Default

    How about telling us which room is the "boy's room" as that can be interpreted a couple of different ways.

    Your teacher did not explain to you what an elevation is?

    Imagine standing in the middle of the room and looking at each of the four walls, in turn, then drawing what you see. You need to know the ceiling height as well as the height of any doorways and windows. The width of the walls and openings are taken directly from the plan view. You might also include any details like casings around doors and windows.

    In regards to the drawing you posted, why all the different wall thicknesses? I can understand having a thicker exterior wall compared to the interior (that's common) but your interior wall thickness varies from room to room. There are a few other "unusual" aspects to your drawing as well. What grade are you in?

    It appears that your door widths are not uniform. Your windows and the way some walls intersect with them are unusual to say the least.

    Did your instructor happen to cover typical residential framing methods with the class?

    Personally, I'd like to see you redraw the floor plan and correct all your mistakes before going on to drawing the elevations for any single room.

    Was the drawing done from a sketch provided by the teacher or did he just say "Draw what you like"?
    Last edited by ReMark; 4th Oct 2011 at 12:26 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,369

    Default

    SimpleElev.jpg

    One simple elevation derived from a floor plan of a room. It shows the window, casing, sill, baseboard and overall height of the room.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Forum Deity Organic's Avatar
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD not applicable
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2,338

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Did your instructor happen to cover typical residential framing methods with the class?
    Would any CAD/drafting course even teach this these days?

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,369

    Default

    A general CAD course? No. A CAD course with its emphasis on architecture? I don't see why they wouldn't but maybe I should have used the term typical residential construction.
    Last edited by ReMark; 5th Oct 2011 at 11:25 am.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,725

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by anlicad View Post
    my school tell me
    Quote Originally Posted by Dink87522 View Post
    Would any CAD/drafting course even teach this these days?
    Where did you get the info the OP was taking a CAD/Drafting course? Why wouldn't they teach the info necessary to properly draft?

    I would think from looking at the layout that there was more information provided.

    What course are you taking and what were the exact instructions?
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  7. #7
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,536

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    To the OP, I looked at your drawing and I concur with Remark. You really need to improve your plan 1st and then work on the elevations. Your walls do need to be consistent in regards to thickness with similar wall styles. You also drew everything on the same color. Give each layer a unique color as to set them apart from each other. I am also a fan of layers being set to Bylayer. Get these things down and then revise your plan and then start on the elevations. Looks like you made layers but did not draw much on them.
    Looks like you did not have your object snaps turned on either. These make CAD like worth living
    Your distances and dims of items seem to be random. Was this drawn to scale in mm?
    Good luck and get back with us if you need some more assistance
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


Similar Threads

  1. elevation
    By mugshot in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 5th Oct 2011, 01:17 am
  2. elevation problem
    By blackeagle1245 in forum MEP
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8th Apr 2011, 07:54 am
  3. draw elevation of 3 floor building
    By pt3 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18th Nov 2010, 02:56 am
  4. Changes the z elevation to 0
    By antistar in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2nd Aug 2010, 09:17 pm
  5. 3D to 2d elevation?
    By nivradolobo in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 6th Mar 2007, 05:25 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts