+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Creating arc

  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default Creating arc

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    2 circle arc.jpg

    Hello everyone. newbie here. i need some help. i'm quite new to AutoCAD. Currently using AutoCAD 2006. refer to above pic how to create those arc. i've been trying using the arc command, but this exercise says the arcs is create using fillet & offset comm..TQ

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    danellis's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T1650
    Using
    Architecture 2014
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    215

    Default

    Taking arc A first: Your desired radius is 58 units. Offset each of the two circles you're connecting by 58. Draw a new circle, of radius 58, at the intersection of the two new circles. Delete the offset circles and trim the R58 circle to tidy up.

    For arc B you essentially take the same process, the difference being that one of the elements you're filleting is a line. Ensure your line extends beyond the likely centrelpoint of the fillet circle. I'd have it touching the right-hand cirlce (with R52). Offset your line and circle by 45 units (the desired fillet radius). Draw a new circle of radius 45 centred on the intersection of the new line and circle. Trim to tidy.

    dJE

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Leeds, West Yorkshire
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Or simple option is to: Having already drawn the 52dia. circle and the 40dia. circle and they are in the correct positions, just use fillet.
    F = fillet on command line, enter radius of 58 and select the two circles which are to be joined.

    Now i'm using ACAD 2010 at the moment so not sure if this still works in 2006. Give it a try

    Just drawn it on 2010 and worked fine.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Leeds, West Yorkshire
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Also, where did you get this image from? I'm creating some help vids for people like yourself for drawing simple things like this. This drawing should take about 10 mins to draw at the most.

  5. #5
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    3,520

    Default

    I am not sure why you are trying to use arcs when the instructions say use Fillet and Offset commands.

    Arc A is a simple fillet between the two circles.

    Arc B is a fillet between a line, offset 45 from the centre line, and the circle. You may have to trim the horizontal line at the left hand side. You could also draw a line directly from the Quadrant node, but then you would not be using the Offset command.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Leeds, West Yorkshire
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Agreed Eldon, otherwise you never learn to use the different commands available!!

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    danellis's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T1650
    Using
    Architecture 2014
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    215

    Default

    I did not know you could fillet to an entire circle like that!

    dJE

  8. #8
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,801

    Default

    Why has no one mentioned the Tan-Tan-Radius option of the Circle command?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  9. #9
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    3,520

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Why has no one mentioned the Tan-Tan-Radius option of the Circle command?
    Because that would be cheating.

    The object of the exercise was to use the Fillet and Offset commands, and in fact they do a better job than using the Tan-Tan-Radius because there is no trimming.

  10. #10
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,801

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Depends on the exact wording of the assignment.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

Similar Threads

  1. Creating DTM
    By Burton Ngoma in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 31st Aug 2011, 05:02 pm
  2. Creating New CUI
    By happyunited in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1st Oct 2008, 04:42 pm
  3. creating a web
    By Crompton in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 5th Jul 2008, 10:10 pm
  4. Creating TBlock/Creating reference pathway
    By driftingsun3 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27th Jan 2008, 08:23 pm
  5. creating VP
    By alijahed in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16th Nov 2007, 05:44 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts