Student Version Problem?

Ghost430

I just downloaded the student version of AutoCAD 2011. I'm a student thats about to start my engineering major and i just have it to refresh myself with the system (3 years prior experience). I heard that the Student Version leaves some type of watermark on a drawing. I'm wondering if this is a problem when it comes to school work with the schools program or something? And what does it mean when it says "infected"? Any help is much appreciated!

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• ReMark

• Ollie8974

• JD Mather

• Bill Tillman

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

The watermark is simply text printed around in a few locations that says the drawing was created with an educational version. "Infected" refers to the fact that any content created with the educational version will carry that water mark into any drawing its used in even if inserted into a licensed commercial version. The intent is to keep people from doing work for hire with the student software. Otherwise, everybody would become students and download free software. They'd have a hard time keeping the lights on that way.

If your teacher objects to the watermark go to the dean and suggest the dean have a talk with the teacher about ethics.

You should not be marked down for a watermark that is a sign that you are using student license rather than pirated software.

Also - do not perpetuate the myth that student work can "infect" other work in the sense that computer viruses seek out other files to infect without the user aware of what is happening. This simply can't happen. The only way the banner is spread is when the user ignores the warning about using the edu license content in other files. (in fact - there are actually two warnings)