Teaching AutoCAD in University - Problem with mass-evaluating AutoCAD assignments

Olliie

Hello everyone!

As my first post here I'm trying to find a good solution for evaluation multiple AutoCAD assignments.

I'm currently a student at Luleå University of Technology MSc programme in Architecture and running my newly started company besides studies. One of my first jobs is teaching AutoCAD to first year students.

The current situation is that the students is lectured and after each lecture they hand in a home assignment as a dwg. In my opinion evaluating these assignments in a greater depth is a waste of time as; the students are not using AutoCAD much in the later parts of their programme, the assignments are quite simple and the goal, the provided dwg, will be the same between students.

As it is 3 courses I'm teaching with 60 students in each and each course contains 6 assignments there are 1080 dwg files to evaluate. Right now I'm glad I'm not the one who have to do the job of evaluating them but I feel it's my duty to bring some progress to this slow process...

So what I'm asking is suggestions how to batch-evaluate these drawings.

My first thoughts were to import them to Adobe Illustrator, each as separate layers and placing them on top of a correct solution. A other idea is using Grasshopper for Rhino to compare the geometry with a correct one giving a more automatic process.

Love to hear your thoughts about this!

//Oliver

I'd say to either

1) A marker manually checks each one in AutoCad and grades it

or 2) Give every student full marks for it provided that they submit it