+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default substation design using autocad

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Iwant to do a project on substation design using auto cad. what are the aspects which i need to consider for such design and how can I implement that using auto cad.
    The necessary details can be sent to me at bishwajyoti.dumdum@gmail.com

  2. #2
    Forum Deity Organic's Avatar
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2,210

    Default

    You might want to make your questions more specific.

  3. #3
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    Much will depend on how much actual Autocad experience you have. By "substation" I assumed you meant an electrical substation. Those are quite complex, and if you've never used Autocad before, such a project will be extremely difficult to complete.
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I would like design a 230kV/33kV,100MVA electrical substation on a given piece of land.How can atleast design ittaking some basic consideration like it is having a main and transfer bus, there are three outgoing feeders. what would be clearances from ground, where to install the protective devices.The project will be just a first hand experience so only basic things Iwant to consider

  5. #5
    Super Member CyberAngel's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CyberAngel's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Pro
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 330
    Discipline
    Civil
    CyberAngel's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Drafter
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anywhere Else
    Posts
    1,004

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bpp View Post
    I would like design a 230kV/33kV,100MVA electrical substation on a given piece of land.How can atleast design ittaking some basic consideration like it is having a main and transfer bus, there are three outgoing feeders. what would be clearances from ground, where to install the protective devices.The project will be just a first hand experience so only basic things Iwant to consider
    If you were doing this for a utility, they would have told you about clearances and safety devices and so forth. My guess is it's a homework assignment, and we don't do those.
    breaking AutoCAD on a regular basis since 1991

  6. #6
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x86
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5500 @ 2.80GHz
    RAM:
    4 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    10,298

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CyberAngel View Post
    If you were doing this for a utility, they would have told you about clearances and safety devices and so forth. My guess is it's a homework assignment, and we don't do those.
    ^^^^^^^^^^^+1
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  7. #7
    Forum Deity Organic's Avatar
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2,210

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jack_O'neill View Post
    Much will depend on how much actual Autocad experience you have. By "substation" I assumed you meant an electrical substation. Those are quite complex, and if you've never used Autocad before, such a project will be extremely difficult to complete.
    I would think the other way around. I know AutoCad well yet I'd have no idea how to actually design an electrical substation. Drafting it is easy, the design is the hard part.

  8. #8
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,763

    Default

    Your design should be based upon the national electrical safety code. You have a copy don't you?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #9
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dink87522 View Post
    I would think the other way around. I know AutoCad well yet I'd have no idea how to actually design an electrical substation. Drafting it is easy, the design is the hard part.
    Well, what I meant by that is that if he doesn't know autocad, AND doesn't know anything about how a substation goes together, it's gonna be next to impossible to do. I got the impression this was a classroom design project and that the OP was neither drafter nor electrical engineer. If you don't know how to draw, and don't know anything about what you want to draw, that's a very steep hill to climb.

    But you are correct...the design end of such a thing is enormous.
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

  10. #10
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,763

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Are you a student?

    If not, isn't there an electrical engineer at the company you work for that should be feeding you the design?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Bentley Substation V8i: Live eSeminar
    By CADTutor in forum MicroStation
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12th Jun 2014, 02:37 pm
  2. Design the 3ds Max Design Box and Splash Image - Be the 3ds Max Design Hero
    By Between the Lines in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 13th Sep 2011, 03:40 am
  3. AutoCAD Design 8.16
    By CAD Panacea in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 22nd Aug 2011, 12:55 pm
  4. Substation design using autocad 2006
    By thanish81188 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 24th Jul 2011, 08:33 pm
  5. ACADE or Promis.E? High Voltage Substation Design
    By illini1022 in forum Electrical
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14th May 2010, 09:52 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts