PC or Mac

lube

Hi

I dont know anything about AutoCAD and any other similar software so excuse me if this sounds stupid to you.

I want to buy a Mac for my father (for christmas) and I'm not sure if I'm doing the right thing. I'm an audio engineer and I can say Mac is way better for DAWs like Logic, Protools, Ableton and others than PC, but I'm not sure if Mac is better than PC for AutoCAD. I think my father is using a basic autocad from 2007 (sorry I'm confused because I saw too many different versions of autocad) and I also want to upgrade him to the last one (which I believe is 2012).

So yeah PC or Mac. Can you also tell me tec specs for it.

Also is there such a thing like AutoCAD 2012? (is there a lite version?) (or something cheaper).

If you recommend me Mac. Can you open a PC saved project under Mac OS?

Hope this is the right place for it. (if not Im sorry)

Hope didnt **** anybody. :)

Cheers

• Replies 66
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• ReMark

• f700es

• resullins

• rkent

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

So far AutoCAD for PC is the best, offers the most commands, etc. However, if the Mac is the best for everything else then go the Mac route, especially if his use of AutoCAD is at the beginners stage. There is an AutoCAD LT 2012 for Mac out, but I believe only in the USA, so check it out before buying the computer to make sure. LT is about $995, AutoCAD is about $4000.

An AutoCAD file can be opened on a Mac or a PC.

Oh, welcome to the forum and you are a good son.

Autodesk lists the minimum specs for its products so go to their website for the specifics.

Hey cheers for the fast response!

I know I can check in on the website but I was asking for some tech specs for a decent performance.

PS: hes been using it for 4-5 years already so I dont think he is a beginner.