+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 20 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 13 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 195
  1. #21
    Senior Member khoshravan's Avatar
    Computer Details
    khoshravan's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Sony Vaio
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Tabriz
    Posts
    482

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Sorry for interruption. What is the meaning of plate in this drafting?

  2. #22
    Senior Member paisis123's Avatar
    Computer Details
    paisis123's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN 7 PRO
    Computer:
    Cyperpower CUSTOM
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 (Socket M2)
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1055T
    RAM:
    8.0GB Dual-Channel DDR3
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon HD 6870 x2 (CROSSFIRE MODE)
    Primary Storage:
    977GB GRAID SCSI Disk Device (SCSI)
    Secondary Storage:
    3 TB external segate drive
    Monitor:
    3x ViewSonic VA2231w-LED
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    paisis123's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Designer - Thermoplastic Extrusions
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    170

    Default

    plate is the drawing segment in which im working on. for example i have 7 plates that must be completed.

  3. #23
    Senior Member khoshravan's Avatar
    Computer Details
    khoshravan's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Sony Vaio
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Tabriz
    Posts
    482

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paisis123 View Post
    plate is the drawing segment in which im working on. for example i have 7 plates that must be completed.
    I thought it has a meaning in drafting/drawing!?

  4. #24
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    Plate = Drawing. Each drawing the student is required to produce is given a plate number.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #25
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    There is a CAD drawing of a roof drain detail here. http://www.cadcorner.ca/caddetails/archdetails.php

    I am familiar with Plate 7 however your reference to Plate E1 is incorrect. That would be Detail E1. It would be an enlarged detail showing the "J" bolt that anchors the column. The bolt is 1 1/2" in diameter and 18" long. A "J" bolt has a small hook at the end thus the reason for its name. The bolt projects 3 1/2" above the baseplate. Normally there would be both a washer and a nut securing the bolt at the baseplate. See "rough" sketch below.

    .J Bolt.jpg
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #26
    Senior Member khoshravan's Avatar
    Computer Details
    khoshravan's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Sony Vaio
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Tabriz
    Posts
    482

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Plate = Drawing. Each drawing the student is required to produce is given a plate number.
    Very interesting. Do you have any idea what caused to use plate as drawing?

  7. #27
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    Greek - platus - flat.

    A drawing is flat.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #28
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,059

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by khoshravan View Post
    Do you have any idea what caused to use plate as drawing?
    Probably in the past, long ago, when books had illustrations in them, these would have to be engraved individually onto plates of metal, which were used in the printing process. In the books, they were referred to as Plates and given numbers for identification.

    Makes a good story anyway

  9. #29
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    I like his ^ ^ ^ explanation better.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #30
    Senior Member paisis123's Avatar
    Computer Details
    paisis123's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN 7 PRO
    Computer:
    Cyperpower CUSTOM
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 (Socket M2)
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1055T
    RAM:
    8.0GB Dual-Channel DDR3
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon HD 6870 x2 (CROSSFIRE MODE)
    Primary Storage:
    977GB GRAID SCSI Disk Device (SCSI)
    Secondary Storage:
    3 TB external segate drive
    Monitor:
    3x ViewSonic VA2231w-LED
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    paisis123's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Designer - Thermoplastic Extrusions
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    170

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Greek - platus - flat.

    A drawing is flat.
    also since if u didn't know but my last name is Greek. my father is Cypriot and my mother is from Greece.

    also another Greek word is -Piato- which means "plate" (pronoucced Pee-Yah-Tou)

    and thanks remark for doing the rough sketch of the j bolt. i needed that!

Similar Threads

  1. Need help on structural drafting project
    By Firligic in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 42
    Last Post: 28th Mar 2012, 05:14 pm
  2. Structural drafting project Plate 2 (penn foster)
    By ANC2008 in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 13th Jul 2011, 11:47 pm
  3. Autocad structural detailing
    By Ize Buko in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th Jan 2011, 11:08 pm
  4. Autocad Structural Detailing
    By pop3 in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd Jan 2011, 02:09 pm
  5. opening multi plates into one palite
    By MSAWIN in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd Mar 2006, 01:29 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts