+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default Is it possible to combine autocad files ?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have multiple files in which i have i different drawings in autocad. Is it possible to combine all the files into one? does anyone know how to do this

  2. #2
    Super Moderator fuccaro's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Romania, Marosvasarhely
    Posts
    3,543

    Default

    I am not sure what "combine" means for you. Try the XREF command.
    It's nice to be nice, but sometimes is nicer to be evil!.
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.

  3. #3
    Super Member stevsmith's Avatar
    Computer Details
    stevsmith's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 (64bit)
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3500
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon W3670 (Six Core 3.2GHz, 12MB Cache)
    RAM:
    12 Gb Ram (3x4GB) DDR3
    Graphics:
    2GB NviDia Quadro 4000
    Monitor:
    Dual screen - BenQ G2020HD 21"
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    stevsmith's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    High Plains Drifter
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Largs, Scotland
    Posts
    990

    Default

    Cut / Copy & Paste?
    Steven Smith
    Solidworks - CSWP | AutoCad


  4. #4
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    You can use either of the methods above, or you can use the "insert" command as if the other drawing were a block. If you do this, I'd recommend creating a layer for each drawing you insert and bring the other drawing in as a block. That way you can position it the way you want it, and by freezing the layer it's on, you can get it out of the way while you insert the next one if you need to. You can always explode them when you've got them arranged like you want and purge out the layers and blocks.
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

  5. #5
    Senior Member Bogbadbob658's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Bogbadbob658's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8P67 LE
    CPU:
    Intel 2nd Generation Coreā„¢ i5-2500
    RAM:
    8GB 1333MHz Dual Channel DDR3 SDRAM
    Graphics:
    512MB Nvidia GeForce Quadro FX 580
    Primary Storage:
    1TB Samsung F3 SATA 7200rpm 32MB Cache
    Monitor:
    24" Iiyama LCD Monitor - Full HD 1920x1080
    Using
    Architecture 2012
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Gloucester UK
    Posts
    298

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by stevsmith View Post
    Cut / Copy & Paste?
    If you try this make sure the UCS, Scale and Units are the same in both drawings otherwise you will have to change them to get the drawings to line up. Personally I use XREF and then use the bind option. open the first file, type in XREF, insert the second file. Once you are happy with the position of the second file type XREF again. Right click the second file name. Select bind from the pull down menu that appears. You get 2 choices either bind or select. So far as I'm aware the only difference is how it deals with layer names. One just use the original layer names and the other adds the original file name as a prefix i.e if you have 'File 1' with a layer ' layer A', one will give you 'Layer A' and the other '$File 1$layer A'. I can't remember which is which.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th Nov 2010, 03:53 pm
  2. How to combine DWG files?
    By ancoursey in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 27th Aug 2010, 01:48 pm
  3. Image Files and Rotation of AutoCAD Files
    By Michigan Engineer in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25th May 2006, 08:28 pm
  4. How do I convert .dwg files to .plt files in Autocad 2000?
    By DPATTERSON23 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21st Jan 2006, 08:01 pm
  5. Combine several .dwg files into one
    By SportsDave in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16th Jan 2006, 06:26 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts