+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
  1. #11
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,811

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Nick-H- View Post
    I have been looking at it for quite a while videos etc... and it does look quite impressive.

    just realised we have a full revit model at work filled with MEP, can I take all the families from that?
    Oh, absolutely. Take all you can. A "Family" is like a "Dynamic Block" in AutoCAD. Same exact concept.
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    264

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StykFacE View Post
    Oh, absolutely. Take all you can. A "Family" is like a "Dynamic Block" in AutoCAD. Same exact concept.
    How do I take all the families then? and save them somewhere

  3. #13
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,203

    Default

    Another resource to check out is the AUGI website. Join (it is free) and look in the Library section for AutoCAD MEP 2012. The pickings are slim but you'll find three Revit MEP articles and a link to Revit Experts.

    www.augi.com
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    264

    Default

    Cheers.

    Just been watching a video tutorial. can you make a 3d revit model from 2d cad files with if you have all the floors and elevations?

    Nick

  5. #15
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,811

    Default

    Best thing to do is just forget AutoCAD altogether. If you want, you can Link in a DWG file and use that to "draw" overtop it.
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

  6. #16
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    264

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StykFacE View Post
    Best thing to do is just forget AutoCAD altogether. If you want, you can Link in a DWG file and use that to "draw" overtop it.
    is Revit MEP the way forward then? it seems like alot of companies are asking for it these days over Autocad MEP

  7. #17
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,811

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Yes it is, although it still needs many more years of maturing. It's better to go ahead and learn it now if you can.
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

Similar Threads

  1. Revit Tutorials?
    By archstudent in forum Revit General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 29th Sep 2010, 11:50 pm
  2. revit architecture video tutorials
    By michaeloureiro in forum Revit General
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 30th Apr 2010, 06:29 pm
  3. Link Revit model into current revit model
    By miyuki_mll in forum Revit General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd Nov 2009, 11:58 am
  4. Tutorials
    By cuzz in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 29th May 2006, 05:54 pm
  5. Tutorials
    By kozzen in forum Feedback
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 5th Sep 2003, 12:20 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts