Basics Questions

Jamie Moore

Hi everyone,

I was a graphic artist for a few years so I'm familiar with design programs like Photoshop and Illustrator. I'm trying to get some metal pieces cut out with a waterjet and they need the format in a CAD file. I recently got AutoCAD 2011 on a Mac and thought I could figure it out. I was wrong. I've watched some videos online but I don't have a good enough understanding of the basics to figure it out. Would anyone be willing to work with me a little? I'm sure we could work something out regarding payment.

Thanks,

Jamie

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Jamie Moore

• bbankston

• ReMark

• YZ

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Just what are you trying to work out?

Waterjet? Do you know what file format is required? Could it be done with a DXF file?

I'm pretty sure we have had questions of this same type in the past.

Basically I have a few designs as Illustrator files that I need to either import or recreate in CAD. They aren't very complicated.

Waterjet is basically a saw that uses high pressure water to cut out predetermined patterns. I'm assuming that the file can be any format that AutoCAD can read.

Do you know if anyone was willing to help?

Hi everyone,

I was a graphic artist for a few years so I'm familiar with design programs like Photoshop and Illustrator. I'm trying to get some metal pieces cut out with a waterjet and they need the format in a CAD file. I recently got AutoCAD 2011 on a Mac and thought I could figure it out. I was wrong. I've watched some videos online but I don't have a good enough understanding of the basics to figure it out. Would anyone be willing to work with me a little? I'm sure we could work something out regarding payment.

Thanks,

Jamie