+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Full Member Alex Moiceanu's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Alex Moiceanu's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Alex Moiceanu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Engineer
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Automotive & Aerospace
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    46

    Default Use often MText?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello again,

    I use often MText command and I want to optimize that command.
    After I select the window where I want the text to be created,appears the 'Text Formatting' window and by defalut,MText Justification is set to Top Left.
    I use often the Middle Center Justification but it's annoying to set it every time.
    How can I set this to start every time by Middle Center Justification?

  2. #2
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,894

    Default

    The way I handle this is by using the Tool Palettes. Here's what I do:

    Create the text, get it set up exactly the way you want. Use anything as a placeholder for the MText. I just simply use "TEXT". Then, make it a block. Now you can drag/drop right onto a Tool Palette and from here you can right-click > Properties the block of text, and select it to Explode upon Insert. This is the quickest way IMHO to handle little customizations like this, without any actual programmable customizations.

    Hope this helps.
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

  3. #3
    Luminous Being alanjt's Avatar
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    6,149

    Default

    I use these on a daily basis...

    Code:
    ; mtext with 0 width
    (defun c:T (/ pt)
      (initdia)
      (command "_.mtext")
      (if (setq pt (getpoint "\nSpecify insertion point <First corner>: "))
        (command "_non" pt "_W" 0.)
      )
      (princ)
    )
    
    
    ;mtext center justified, 0 width
    (defun c:TY (/ pt)
     (initdia)
     (command "_.mtext")
     (if (setq pt (getpoint "\nSpecify first corner: "))
       (command pt "_j" "_mc" "_w" 0)
     )
     (princ)
    )
    DropBox | finding the light...
    Seann: ...it went crazy ex-girlfriend on me...
    eric_monceaux...its pretty funny seeing two AutoCAD Gods give each other flak...

  4. #4
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,894

    Default

    Very nice Alan.
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

  5. #5
    Luminous Being alanjt's Avatar
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    6,149

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StykFacE View Post
    Very nice Alan.
    Thanks. I like the TP method; never would have thought of that.
    DropBox | finding the light...
    Seann: ...it went crazy ex-girlfriend on me...
    eric_monceaux...its pretty funny seeing two AutoCAD Gods give each other flak...

  6. #6
    Full Member Alex Moiceanu's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Alex Moiceanu's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Alex Moiceanu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Engineer
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Automotive & Aerospace
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    46

    Default

    Thanks Stykface & Alanjt...

  7. #7
    Full Member Alex Moiceanu's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Alex Moiceanu's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Alex Moiceanu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Engineer
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Automotive & Aerospace
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    46

    Default

    The way I handle this is by using the Tool Palettes. Here's what I do:

    Create the text, get it set up exactly the way you want. Use anything as a placeholder for the MText. I just simply use "TEXT". Then, make it a block. Now you can drag/drop right onto a Tool Palette and from here you can right-click > Properties the block of text, and select it to Explode upon Insert. This is the quickest way IMHO to handle little customizations like this, without any actual programmable customizations.

    Hope this helps.
    Ok...so I opened the Tool Pallete,i created the block as you said and then wanted to drag&drop but nothing happened.
    Why I can't drag&drop the block onto the Tool Pallete?

  8. #8
    Forum Deity Organic's Avatar
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2,210

    Default

    Maybe I am old school in this, although I would have just copy and pasted, then edited...

  9. #9
    Forum Deity Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    4,248

    Default

    I tend to include small samples of configured elements into my template drawings, I used to use tool palletes a lot more, they are very helpful for customization stuff. My templates typically include a fairly comprehensive pallette of about the same size as my sheet block, which includes lots of recurring elements such as dimensions with custom styles, annotation bits, leaders with preferred style, etc. I can relate though, as whenever I get a model from somebody else with a leader style which I don't like, or standard dimstyle included, I feel compelled to go in and set a new DIMSTYLE 1, and leader style. In that way I can later delete the STANDARD dimstyle, which I never use.

  10. #10
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,894

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Alex Moiceanu View Post
    Ok...so I opened the Tool Pallete,i created the block as you said and then wanted to drag&drop but nothing happened.
    Why I can't drag&drop the block onto the Tool Pallete?
    1. Save the drawing first.

    2. Don't Click+Hold+Drag+Drop on the Tool Palette, you have to Click the block once, then Click+Hold+Drag+Drop. I know it's kinda stupid but Tool Palettes are weird like that.
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

Similar Threads

  1. Sum Numbers in Mtext Fields to Mtext Field
    By muurr in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2nd Aug 2013, 02:11 pm
  2. Mtext Help
    By Nardino in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18th Jun 2010, 02:43 pm
  3. Mtext bug?
    By Mils in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11th Apr 2008, 07:54 am
  4. Can Lisp use mtext to make multi string mtext editor?
    By muck in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18th Dec 2006, 03:22 am
  5. MTEXT created in same MTEXT editor on different layers?
    By hyposmurf in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th Sep 2003, 12:54 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts