+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Inventor 2012
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    5

    Question how to export from 3D MAX to IGES and into Inventor?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi guys,
    I have modeled this "low-poly" hand in 3d max. Here's how it looks with the "NURMS toggle" turned on.
    What I need is to somehow really turn it into NURBS, to be able to export it as IGES and then import into Inventor.
    Any ideas what's the best way of doing this?

    Thanks!


  2. #2
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Landscape Architect
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    9,066

    Default

    What version of Studio Max are you using?

    You can export from Max to .dwg, .dxf, ACIS SAT or IGES. Inventor should be able to import all of those formats, so try those and see if any of them work for you.

    And if you want to convert the hand to NURBS, simply select it and then right click and choose Convert to NURBS.
    Personal Website: ( Updated 03/21/2014 ) ---> http://www.rdeweese.com/

    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Inventor 2012
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default

    nope IGES ( as Inventor ) used a NURBS models, while my model is currently a polygon mesh. therefor before exporting it into Inventor, I need to convert it to nurbs.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Landscape Architect
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    9,066

    Default

    Did you try what I suggested, by right clicking and selecting "Convert to NURBS"?
    Personal Website: ( Updated 03/21/2014 ) ---> http://www.rdeweese.com/

    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Inventor 2012
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Sure I did. but there isn't such an option. others say I should at first convert it to editable patch and then to nurbs, but it totally screws up the topology by adding a few hundred verts.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Landscape Architect
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    9,066

    Default

    Ah yes, you're right. Sorry about that. I was experimenting with a primitive Box. You can convert a primitive to NURBS, but you can't convert an editable poly to NURBS.

    The only other way I know is what you just said. Convert it to a Patch and then convert the Patch to NURBS.

    Maybe someone else with Inventor experience will come along with a suggestion?
    Personal Website: ( Updated 03/21/2014 ) ---> http://www.rdeweese.com/

    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Inventor 2012
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.





    A member from another forum suggested this:

    1. Export the unsmoothed model as a .dwg file.
    2.open the file in autocad mechanical. In the 3D modeling environment,under the solid editing tab, click convert to surface (or solid if it is a closed model).
    3. Export the model as a .step file.
    4. Open the .step file in inventor. If you used convert to surface, you will need to stitch the surfaces.

Similar Threads

  1. Export to IGES in Version 12 Trial not working
    By Gearz Drums in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 14th Nov 2011, 12:39 am
  2. AutoCAD 2011 Subscription Advantage Pack - IGES Import/Export
    By AutoCAD Insider in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22nd Oct 2010, 02:50 pm
  3. Replacing pointed iges surfaces in Inventor
    By NavArk in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20th Oct 2010, 10:19 am
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 30th Sep 2010, 01:20 pm
  5. Export from Inventor to .3ds, .obj or even .max
    By f700es in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 21st Sep 2009, 06:15 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts