+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,495

    Default AutoCAD 2012 ViewBase command

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Credit JDM for bringing this command to my attention a while back. Just got around to experimenting with it. VIEWBASE works only in a layout. It does not create blocks like the SectionPlane and Flatshot commands do. It does create some unique layers such as Hidden, Hidden Narrow, Visible and Visible Narrow. A change to the 3D geometry can be reflected in the 2D views that are created via the View Update command. Multiple orthographic views can be created at one time using the Projected View option. It works simply and fast.

    My simple 3D wedge base.

    3D Wedge Base.jpg

    The four resultant views created with VIEWBASE.


    Wedge Base views.jpg
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  2. #2
    Super Member resullins's Avatar
    Computer Details
    resullins's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T5500
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5405
    RAM:
    12.00 GB
    Graphics:
    NVidia Quadro FX 4500
    Monitor:
    Dual Dell 20" 16x9 running DVI-D
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    675

    Default

    Damn, I kinda wish I did more parts modeling so I could use that.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,817

    Default

    What is the difference between VIEWBASE and the SOL commands?
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  4. #4
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,579

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SLW210 View Post
    What is the difference between VIEWBASE and the SOL commands?
    The main one is that any change to the model is shown in the viewbase views, no need to redo anything. They are much quicker than SOL commands also as the 4 are made at once with simple moving of the cursor.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,495

    Default

    VIEWBASE is much faster.
    It does not create as many layers as SolView/SolDraw.
    There is no geometry created over in model space.
    VIEWBASE supports only the following orientations: Top/Bottom/Left/Right/Front/BAck/SW iso/SE iso/NE iso/NW iso.
    There is no option for creating a Section or for Hatching as far as I can tell.
    2D views can be easily updated when there is a change to the 3D geometry.
    Not only does VIEWBASE create the new layers, it automatically assigns the linetype and even a lineweight for each layer.
    One can pre-select first or third angle projection.
    Preview type: Shaded or bounding box.
    Other options available in VIEWBASE are: Representation/Orientation/STyle/SCale/Visibility/Move/eXit.
    Cannot "copy" a view. AutoCAD returns the following:
    Cannot COPY that object
    1 found
    1 was filtered out, 0 total
    Cannot use the BEDIT command on a view because it isn't considered a block.

    I'm sure there is more but I'm still experimenting with the command.
    Last edited by ReMark; 7th Dec 2011 at 08:14 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,817

    Default

    Model changes are updated in the SOL commands. What if those are not the 4 views I want? Does it also do sections?
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  7. #7
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,817

    Default

    Sounds like it would only work for about 2% of my work, I need the sections for sure and often need to reorient the UCS. The big advantage I see is it doesn't place anything in the Model Space.

    I find few reasons to upgrade to 2012.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  8. #8
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,495

    Default

    Available views: Line 4 of post #5.
    Sections: Line 5 of same.
    Re: SOL updating views. As far as I know if the 3D objects in model space are modified after the views have been created one would have to re-create the views all over again. SectionPlane and Flatshot allow for updating their 2D blocks if one makes changes to the 3D model.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Re: SOL updating views. As far as I know if the 3D objects in model space are modified after the views have been created one would have to re-create the views all over again.
    SOLVIEW just creates a viewport, you still see the 3DModel just as you would if you created a viewport in any other way, change the Model the view updates. If you used SOLDRAW, then alter the Model, just run SOLDRAW again it will redraw to conform to the changes. Takes a couple of seconds.

    Viewbase is just too inflexible for me, if it did sections it would be a plus, but I often draw at odd angles and need straight on views.

    Maybe 2013 or 2014?
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  10. #10
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,495

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Every time you run SOLDRAW you add more layers to your drawing too.

    Correction: I should have said SOLVIEW.
    Last edited by ReMark; 8th Dec 2011 at 04:11 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Acad 2012: Viewbase command?
    By 43st in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 29th Nov 2011, 12:29 pm
  2. Changes to the SNAP command in AutoCAD 2012
    By Autodesk in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14th Oct 2011, 11:30 pm
  3. 2012: SCREENMENU command is undefined by default in AutoCAD
    By Autodesk in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 27th Apr 2011, 12:50 am
  4. Trace Command Removed AutoCAD 2012
    By scottish-lawd in forum AutoCAD Bugs, Error Messages & Quirks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th Apr 2011, 10:06 am
  5. AutoComplete Command Entry in AutoCAD 2012
    By AutoCAD Insider in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24th Mar 2011, 06:30 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts