user interface when in multiple views - basic setup questions (can I make like Rhino?

Stefan1

Hello,

I have extensive experience using Rhino3d for modeling, rendering and also drafting, but now need to move over to AutoCad for a new employer.

I have no issues when using autocad for simple 2d drafting, layers and commands seem straightforward enough, but I am having real difficulty with the 3d interface when set up with 4 viewports, similar to Rhino (top, front, right and perspective)

Question #1: can I link the viewports so that moving around in 1 moves the other simultaneously to the same zoom and location? anyone familiar with Rhino will understand what I'm looking for.

Question #2: can I set up the MButtonPAN (or similar for orbit) command to orbit ONLY when in a perspective viewport? (in rhino, the right mouse button always orbits in a perspective viewport, and pressing shift with right mouse button can pan, ideally this is what I need or some variant of it). It seems very cumbersome to have to use the orbit button every time I want to adjust my perspective view!

Basically I want to make my workflow as similar to Rhino as possible, as it has become deeply engrained, and so far the crossover is not going well.

Any help would be appreciated!

-Stefan

Question #1: can I link the viewports so that moving around in 1 moves the other simultaneously to the same zoom and location? anyone familiar with Rhino will understand what I'm looking for.
AutoCAD Viewports suck. You will not get as much dynamic use out of Viewports like that of Rhino3D. Are you creating multiple Viewports in the Modelspace at all? How is your setup? Just curious so I can maybe give more tips.