+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    one25IT's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 SP1
    Computer:
    64-bit Operating system
    CPU:
    Intel i7-2820QM @2.30 GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    Quadro 2000M v280.26 DirectX v11
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    40

    Default Two Overlapping Windows Render Black

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    When rendering the following scene, the area, where two transparent objects (windows) overlap, renders black.

    This happens in both cases; the two windows stay parallel to each other, the two windows are orthogonal to each other.

    The windows measure 2cm in thickness; the material applied is Autocad standard "Clear".

    I remember having rendered the same scene before without any issues.

    Two windows parallel:
    2 windows b.jpg
    Two windows orthogonal:
    2 windows c.jpg

    Did this happen to you? Do you know of a solution?

    PS: The file is too large to post.

  2. #2
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    one25IT's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 SP1
    Computer:
    64-bit Operating system
    CPU:
    Intel i7-2820QM @2.30 GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    Quadro 2000M v280.26 DirectX v11
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    40

    Default

    Copy-pasting everything into a new drawing didn't help. The problem persists.
    Now the view traverses the first two windows, but the black wall appears on the third window.
    win2.jpg
    Last edited by one25IT; 11th Dec 2011 at 08:21 pm. Reason: Didn't work.

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    one25IT's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 SP1
    Computer:
    64-bit Operating system
    CPU:
    Intel i7-2820QM @2.30 GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    Quadro 2000M v280.26 DirectX v11
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    40

    Default

    I can replicate the same behavior in a clean new drawing too. So it might be simply a limitation to the software.

    win.jpg
    The first five rectangles are all transparent of the same type, Material Global, transparency 90%. The last rectangle is of material Global, transparency 0%.
    render.jpg
    Another example.

    Does anybody know anything?
    Last edited by one25IT; 13th Dec 2011 at 12:54 am. Reason: More information.

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    one25IT's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 SP1
    Computer:
    64-bit Operating system
    CPU:
    Intel i7-2820QM @2.30 GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    Quadro 2000M v280.26 DirectX v11
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    40

    Default

    The problem appeared after Autocad had crashed during a render.

    In the meantime I've tried repair and re-install function from the Windows control panel without success. I also re-installed totally from scratch. But the error persists.

    Did anybody experience anything similar?
    Last edited by one25IT; 23rd Dec 2011 at 02:07 pm.

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    one25IT's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 SP1
    Computer:
    64-bit Operating system
    CPU:
    Intel i7-2820QM @2.30 GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    Quadro 2000M v280.26 DirectX v11
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    40

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I found my error. It was really simple in the end! The crash set ray tracing down to value 6. I didn't figure it out, since I never had touched those settings.
    It drove me crazy; I am happy I puzzled it out and wanted to let you know, in case somebody encounters this problem.
    Last edited by one25IT; 23rd Dec 2011 at 09:19 pm.

Similar Threads

  1. Render result black & grey
    By dreamer in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 3rd Jul 2010, 06:49 pm
  2. Why Does mt arch&design Render black
    By damob23 in forum UVW Mapping, Textures & Materials
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2nd Mar 2009, 04:32 pm
  3. Interior render, daylight outside windows?
    By W3D in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 16th Dec 2008, 05:23 pm
  4. Render-fade to black.
    By JGN in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th Dec 2008, 12:36 pm
  5. Need Help windows crashing during a render
    By Bryon in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 30th Jun 2006, 02:47 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts