Advice getting started

Tackdriver

I am a controls engineer. I work with industrial automation products, and Ive been in this line of work a long time. At my new job, all the guys have CAD products of some sort, especially the mechanical engineers and product engineers. I was never really interested in CAD until now. I had a little of it in college, and it was a clunky thing at that point. I did learn the basics of drafting along the way. So today my boss cut a po for the 2011 edition of Autocad electrical. Now on the first day of my job, I new I would have to hang with the young guys, so I downloaded DraftSight and Sketchup, and played with them on my own time, so that I could at least have a point of reference for conversations. In time I got pretty good making electrical drawings with Draftsight.

Along the way I have developed a interest in the more mechanical types of drawings, and I want to learn more about that. Im not certain I would ever want to make my primary living as a draftsman, but I want to develop emerging skills.

So what advice would you give?

well unless he springs for courses for you, then its ask questions with those that know and at the top left of this page is a button called tutorials there are lots of good little tips in that, good luck

Take a couple of CAD courses. This can be done via your local community college or by distance learning (online class).

You mentioned AutoCAD Electrical. It is going to be nothing like DraftSight. I would strongly recommend that you inquire of the AutoDesk reseller about the availability of a training class.

Sometimes companies can be very relunctant to support CAD training courses - in my experience anyway. It does seem the best option though, just put your case forward and hopefully they'll be supportive.