+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Exporting to PDF

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Ok guys, I'm new to using AutoCAD but learn very quickly. My boss wants me to export our cad file to pdf, but he wants it to have the black background and the colored layers. I have found how to export the color on the layers but not the black background. Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator fuccaro's Avatar
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    fuccaro's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Mechanical eng.
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Romania, Marosvasarhely
    Posts
    3,577

    Default

    I might be wrong, but I don't think it's possible. It is like printing but keeping the black background (and killing the printer).
    Sure, you can save a screen capture as an image and convert that to Pdf, but you will loose all the advantages of the CAD file.
    It's nice to be nice, but sometimes is nicer to be evil!
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.

  3. #3
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,058

    Default

    You can't plot the background color but you can make a filled hatch the color Black and use Draw Order to place it behind everything.
    Last edited by tzframpton; 13th Dec 2011 at 10:26 pm. Reason: Black, not Block, ha
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  4. #4
    Super Member DANIEL's Avatar
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    DANIEL's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Industrial
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Arlington Texas
    Posts
    1,005

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StykFacE View Post
    You can't plot the background color but you can make a filled hatch the color Block and use Draw Order to place it behind everything.
    I like the way you think .....


    personally Alfred, I think your boss crazy, I'd be trying to talk some sense into him as I don't know of any sound reasoning to want it plotted on a black back ground.
    If you would like to help my 2 year old niece Alaina in her battle against Leukemia you can donate blood at any Carter Blood Care and put SPON050875 on the donor form. Thank you so much for any contributions in this matter that you can make.

    Luminous beings are we, not this crude matter.

  5. #5
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,058

    Default

    Also note that the bg color is simply to the drafter's discretion of preference and nothing more.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  6. #6
    Super Member Tankman's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tankman's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro SP3
    Computer:
    IBM T60 Thinkpad™
    Monitor:
    36" LCD Monitor/TV, 14" Thinkpad™ T60
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Eastern PA, USA
    Posts
    1,796

    Default

    Does the boss have stock in toner manufacturers?

    As noted above, "bg color is simply to the drafter's discretion or preference."

    Print a black background........forget it.
    Tankman

    "When the well is dry, we know the worth of water." Ben Franklin ~ 1746

  7. #7
    Super Member stevsmith's Avatar
    Computer Details
    stevsmith's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 (64bit)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    stevsmith's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    High Plains Drifter
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    Solidworks 2015
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Largs, Scotland
    Posts
    1,072

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tankman View Post
    Does the boss have stock in toner manufacturers?

    As noted above, "bg color is simply to the drafter's discretion or preference."

    Print a black background........forget it.
    You don't need toner..... It's a PDF
    "The fear of death follows from the fear of life. A man who lives fully is prepared to die at any time"

    SolidWorks | AutoCAD | Creo

  8. #8
    Super Moderator fuccaro's Avatar
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    fuccaro's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Mechanical eng.
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Romania, Marosvasarhely
    Posts
    3,577

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Just sometimes when plot to Pdf file it doesn't respect the specified draworder. It depends on the pdf writer, of course.
    It's nice to be nice, but sometimes is nicer to be evil!
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.

Similar Threads

  1. Exporting to AGI
    By cadmanrob in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 6th Oct 2011, 08:44 pm
  2. Exporting GSI/DXF?
    By JimBob in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 21st Nov 2008, 11:52 am
  3. Exporting to .wmf
    By SeaRR85 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16th May 2008, 05:10 pm
  4. exporting help
    By Missy216 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12th Feb 2007, 02:34 pm
  5. Please help me with exporting!
    By mr. tickles in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8th Sep 2005, 10:08 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts