+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    Shane Cawthorn's Computer Details
    Computer:
    DELL INSPIRON 5030
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    ALIWAL NORTH, EASTEN CAPE, SOUTH AFRICA
    Posts
    8

    Wink Model / paper space scale settings autocad 2012

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    HI, I AM NEW AT AUTOCAD. I AM CURRENTLY DOING A HOME COURSE ON AUTOCAD WITH MINIMAL INFORMATION. I AM NOT DRAWING TOO BAD ON AUTOCAD 2012.

    MY PROBLEM IS: I BELIEVE I AM DRAWING IM METRES IN MODEL SPACE, WHEN GOING TO PAPER SPACE, IT IS IN MILLIMETRES. WHEN IN PAPERSPACE, I CREATE A VIEW PORT AND SCALE THE IMAGE DRAWN TO A SCALE OF 1:100. THE IMAGE GETS SO SMALL I CANNOT EVEN SEE IT ON PAPERSPACE. IF I SCALE IT AT 10:1 IT CAN BE SEEN ON THE PAGE, WHICH CANNOT BE CORRECT.

    SOME WHERE MY SETTINGS ARE INCORRECT. WHERE CAN I LOOK AND WHAT CAN I DO TO RECTIFY THIS PROBLEM.

    I AM SO FRUSTRATED, AS I HAVE BEEN STRUGGELING FOR DAYS WITH THIS AND CANNOT FIND THE FAULT.

    PLEASE HELP

    THANKS

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    Just what is it that you are drawing? Is it a machine part, a floor plan of a house or a site plan. That is going to determine what 1 unit is equal to in model space. 1 unit could equal 1 millimeter, 1 centimeter, 1 meter or 1 kilometer as far as AutoCAD is concerned. Whatever it is that you are drawing, draw it FULL size.

    Yes, in paper space 1 unit = 1 millimeter. Why? Because your paper sizes are in millimeters.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    Shane Cawthorn's Computer Details
    Computer:
    DELL INSPIRON 5030
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    ALIWAL NORTH, EASTEN CAPE, SOUTH AFRICA
    Posts
    8

    Default

    I am drawing a floor plan.

    Why is it that when i scale it to 1:100 it get so small in paper space that i cannot see the floor plan. Where are the settings that i must check. I am still a dummie with autocad

    thanks

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    Did you draw the floor plan FULL size in model space?

    What sheet size will you be plotting/printing to?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    Shane Cawthorn's Computer Details
    Computer:
    DELL INSPIRON 5030
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    ALIWAL NORTH, EASTEN CAPE, SOUTH AFRICA
    Posts
    8

    Default

    I believe so, how do i check

  6. #6
    Super Member Bill Tillman's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    1,268

    Default

    Welcome to the forum. You will find lots of good information here. But I think we can already tell by your question that you need to first grasp the main thing about drawing in model and paper space. It's not uncommon for new users to ask this kind of question.

    You create a drawing of a part, a floor plan, your girlfriends body....whatever you like in model space and draw it 1:1, that is you draw it full scale. You can set the units you want to work with in model space using the UNITS command. Once you have this set, you can then draw a line 10mm long by just drawing it to 10 units. Don't worry about scale of anything because AutoCAD will take care of all of that for you.

    Once you have your drawing ready for presentation then you will go into paperspace and create Viewports with the proper size for the paper you're printing on and this is where you can set the scale. Remember, you don't change the size of the objects you've drawn. AutoCAD will do all of that for you.

    Now there are many among us who do not use paperspace. This is a choice each user makes and it's up to you. But all good AutoCAD operators will encourage you to use paperspace and viewports. Keep reading your tutorials and you'll understand this. As a self-taught AutoCAD operator I can tell you that self-tutoring will get you where you want to be.
    It's deja vu, all over again.

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    What is the width and length of your floor plan?

    What size paper will you be plotting to?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    Shane Cawthorn's Computer Details
    Computer:
    DELL INSPIRON 5030
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    ALIWAL NORTH, EASTEN CAPE, SOUTH AFRICA
    Posts
    8

    Default

    The floor plan is 16 x 14 metres and will be plotted to an a3 size paper.

    I have checked the units command and have changed it to metres, will it change the dimensions of the current floor plan or what will happen

    my only problem so far is when changing to scale 1:100 on paperspace it is too small to see.

  9. #9
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    I would try a scale of 1:50 which is what many metric floor plans are usually drawn to.

    Metric plot plans (a drawing showing the building and it relates to the property it sits on) is usually drawn at a scale of 1:100. Maybe that's why you floor plan looks so small.

    Details are usually drawn to scales of 1:20, 1:10 or even 1:5.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #10
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    Shane Cawthorn's Computer Details
    Computer:
    DELL INSPIRON 5030
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    ALIWAL NORTH, EASTEN CAPE, SOUTH AFRICA
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I am sorry for the questions, but when i say small, i really mean small, at a scale of 1:50 on paper space, the floor plan looks like a tiny little dot on the paper in the view port. I do not understand why.

Similar Threads

  1. Linetype scale in paper vs. model space
    By ssartor in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 16th Dec 2011, 09:14 pm
  2. Help getting the right scale from Model Space to Paper Space
    By Susan-Skye in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 28th Oct 2010, 01:51 pm
  3. Annotative scale for model & paper space
    By CivilPrice in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 27th Aug 2010, 07:06 pm
  4. Scale the lintype in model space & paper space.
    By yadavdinesh2008 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27th May 2009, 06:14 pm
  5. linetype scale in Model Space/Paper Space
    By delangorgon in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2nd Oct 2007, 04:55 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts