+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    designerstuart's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Computer:
    various
    Discipline
    Architectural
    designerstuart's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    architect
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    ADT 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    near london, near europe
    Posts
    867

    Default offset - is there a new variable for clever trimming?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    has anyone noticed that the offset command has changed in 2010? (unless i am going mad) see image below. i'm sure if you offset a polyline, with no node at the crossing point, in pre-2010, it would end up as second image.

    offset.JPG

    but now i get the 3rd and 4th types, which i admit is pretty good for offsetting both sides and deleting original construction line, but not always better that the original method.

    is there a variable or option somewhere to change the performance?

    thanks!

  2. #2
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,965

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by designerstuart View Post
    has anyone noticed that the offset command has changed in 2010? (unless i am going mad) see image below. i'm sure if you offset a polyline, with no node at the crossing point, in pre-2010, it would end up as second image.

    Attachment 31831

    but now i get the 3rd and 4th types, which i admit is pretty good for offsetting both sides and deleting original construction line, but not always better that the original method.

    is there a variable or option somewhere to change the performance?

    thanks!
    There are some interesting choices in the offset commandline options. I have never used it, but the layers offset could be useful in Landscape design or other Topographical applications. Perhaps you would be more comfortable with one of these other offset gap types.
    Attached Images
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    designerstuart's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Computer:
    various
    Discipline
    Architectural
    designerstuart's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    architect
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    ADT 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    near london, near europe
    Posts
    867

    Default

    yes i looked at the OFFSETGAPTYPE variable for the first time ever today - but all this does is set the connections between polyline segments to chamfer, radius etc. i think this problem comes before that variable, if that makes sense.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    Mike_Taylor's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64 Bit
    CPU:
    Intel I7 2600
    RAM:
    16GB DDR3
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 550
    Primary Storage:
    2TB @ 7500 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    1 TB @ 7500 RPM, 750GB @ 5200 RPM
    Monitor:
    2 @ 24"
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Mike_Taylor's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Rombald Inc. - CAD Designer and CAD Specialist
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Details
    Primarily Electrical Building Systems Design The "Lighting Guy"
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Stratford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    466

    Default

    I just tried the offset command as shown in your pictures in ACAD 2006 and I got the same results as the 3rd and 4th images. It may have been changed in earlier versions though.

  5. #5
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,043

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by designerstuart View Post
    has anyone noticed that the offset command has changed in 2010? (unless i am going mad) see image below.
    I think that you may be going mad, unless you updated from a long, long way back. AutoCAD 2002 produces the 3rd and 4th images.

    I don't usually use polylines that cross, so I had to check before posting.

  6. #6
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    designerstuart's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Computer:
    various
    Discipline
    Architectural
    designerstuart's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    architect
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    ADT 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    near london, near europe
    Posts
    867

    Default

    well that is interesting. thanks mike and eldon, i was beginning to think that must be the case. could find no variable for it, no clever options. must be mad then.

  7. #7
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    That's why I love this forum. Find something almost every day that I didn't know was there. I use 2010 and I get the fourth result. Guess I've never offset a polyline that crossed like that. Cool. That should make for some interesting logo designs.
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

  8. #8
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,733

    Default

    I tried on 2000i at home yesterday, it is the same as on 2011.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  9. #9
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,040

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jack_O'neill View Post
    That's why I love this forum. Find something almost every day that I didn't know was there. I use 2010 and I get the fourth result. Guess I've never offset a polyline that crossed like that. Cool. That should make for some interesting logo designs.
    No joke man, that is a sweet little variable!! I can have fun with that.

    Although, the offset feature in Inkscape is far superior for logo design.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  10. #10
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by StykFacE View Post
    No joke man, that is a sweet little variable!! I can have fun with that.

    Although, the offset feature in Inkscape is far superior for logo design.
    I'm sure. Maybe I'm just getting old, but I've played around with Inkscape and Gimp and Wings and some of the others. If I had time to really dig into it and learn to use it properly, or could sit with someone who knows those programs I might get somewhere. Most of the time, by the time I figure out how to get started I can have it done in AutoCAD. And if that fails, there's drawing board behind me with paper, a very large assortment of pencils, pens, pastels and watercolors that will get it done if I can manage to guide them to what I want.
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

Similar Threads

  1. Autodesk’s Clever Way to Encourage Employee Activity
    By Between the Lines in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 8th Dec 2011, 06:50 pm
  2. Trimming
    By apowersite in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 29th Jul 2011, 02:54 am
  3. Offset Plane Will Not Offset Correctly
    By Bill Tillman in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6th Jun 2011, 03:15 am
  4. Trimming
    By MisterJingles in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 16th Feb 2011, 05:36 pm
  5. Need some help with Trimming
    By didko in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 22nd Aug 2008, 07:25 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts