+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 29
  1. #11
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Cad64 View Post
    Did you ever determine what version he is running and whether he will be doing 3D work or not? Also, does he use any other CAD, 3D modeling or graphics software or stand-alone rendering software? If he's doing 3D work, you will need something more substantial.

    ReMark's last post would be a good choice for a 3D machine. But that's probably going to put you up in the $2,000 range.

    I had asked about if there were a range of programs within the cad software family initially. Since figured they were all some form of 3d modelling. Didn't know what kind of hardware range would be needed for x version of x application.

    I had to reinstall his system last year, and pretty sure if wasn't a $2000 box a few years ago when he bought it. I would guess that he has been bringing home projects to work on his personal system. Something died and wants me to piece together something. Haven't seen it yet, so not sure if just needs a cpu,mobo and ram. Possibly a hard drive or what.

    Thanks for the info. When I hear back, I'll ask what version, program and is there any 3d going on with it.

    I was under the impression that the only usage for 64bit windows was that it can access more than 4g of ram. Also have to take into account that 32bit apps will have to be run in emulation mode. So assume they would slower. Or possibly run a dual boot system? Either way, I will be looking elsewhere to confirm of deny that particular info. Preferably something not to technical

    Thanks. I'll get back when I get more information. For now, will assume any discreet graphics card will work and the $400 budget will do.

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Just talked to him now, says he is using autocad inventor. Just starting to train on it now. Mentioned that so far just using a couple of parts. Not building (for example) an entire tractor Since it is a home system, he would also like to do some gaming as well. So debating on going 64 bit. Or might do a dual boot. I would assume the $400 system I listed above would be fine then? Thanks

  3. #13
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,124

    Default

    $400 would be fine for my grandmother's computer. She likes to read her news on the Internet, play solitaire, shop at WalMart and email the grandkids.

    Serious toys for serious boys.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Grandma only has govt pension, she can't afford such extravagance. She has to use the library computer just to check email. Solitaire she can play on her cell phone

  5. #15
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,124

    Default

    Yeah, but the problem is when grandma goes to play World of Warcraft she really wants a system with some 8alls. Know what I mean?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #16
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Is that why she wants to come over and use my system all the time? She just wants me for my ssd?

  7. #17
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,124

    Default

    Yep. And you thought she liked you for your personality. Silly.

    Really, $400? That's all the dude is willing to cough up? And we're buying what components? RAM, video card and ?? Heck, he can drop more than half that amount on the video card with no problem.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #18
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,799

    Default

    $400? That's it?!? OEM Windows 7 alone is $100 + tax, so you have $290 for hardware..... Heh, good luck.
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

  9. #19
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    10

    Default

    i5 cpu = $200, $100 mobo, $25 4gb ram, $75 video card. Hoping to reuse old hd, psu, case... Got to get the last of boxing week sales Sorry, guess should have been more clear.

  10. #20
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,799

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Ah, your thread title says "new system" when in fact it should have stated "system rebuild". Gotcha.

    Needs to be 8GB of RAM at minimum. Core i5, $100 mobo, $75 vid card will definitely suffice but don't expect a screamer of a system with those specs.
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

Similar Threads

  1. PC specs sufficient?
    By MisterJingles in forum Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 3rd Apr 2010, 12:50 am
  2. Help with machine specs to run CAD
    By Londontrials in forum Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 27th Mar 2010, 08:25 pm
  3. PC Specs for auto CAD
    By grasshopper in forum Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 3rd Nov 2009, 03:20 pm
  4. New PC specs
    By MisterJingles in forum Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 30th Apr 2009, 12:22 pm
  5. PC Specs For Map3D
    By grocket007 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th Dec 2006, 08:26 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts