+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 16 of 16
  1. #11
    Senior Member the ber's Avatar
    Computer Details
    the ber's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64 bit
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    202

    Default

    Before you try the MEASURE command, you should use DDPTYPE to set the appearance of the points. Use a cross or circle or something; if you use the default AutoCAD setting, then you won't see the points. If your line is just a straight line, then you should be alright. If your line is a polyline, then I think your specified distance of 10 NM will be shortened at each corner.
    Sooner or later, you'll own Generals.

  2. #12
    Senior Member caddcop's Avatar
    Computer Details
    caddcop's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WinXP
    Computer:
    HP Tower- Dual Screens Windows 8.0 64 Bit
    Monitor:
    Dell and Viewsonic 22' Widescreens
    Discipline
    Civil
    caddcop's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CADD Manager - Civil/Survey
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Working with Land Desktop 2008 and 2009, Civil 3D 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 & 2013
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Maryland (DC Suburbs)
    Posts
    100

    Default

    The construct points tools could help you place points where you need to partial delete element segments. You may also be able to use the snap divisor setting (KY=) to create snap points. Also, you might be able to use a macro.
    A custom line style is not an out of the question possibility since there is a drop linestyle command which would leave lines and gaps. you could use a unit base linestyle that would be used with the global linestyle scale factor equal to the gap required.

  3. #13
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    awolcott's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7 Ultimate
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by caddcop View Post
    The construct points tools could help you place points where you need to partial delete element segments. You may also be able to use the snap divisor setting (KY=) to create snap points. Also, you might be able to use a macro.
    A custom line style is not an out of the question possibility since there is a drop linestyle command which would leave lines and gaps. you could use a unit base linestyle that would be used with the global linestyle scale factor equal to the gap required.

    Just want to clarify for others, and myself, that you are speaking about Microstation, correct?

    If so, does anyone know if there an equivalent command for Autocad?


    Edit:

    BTW, thank you for the input. I am now exploring this option and so far I like what I see.
    Last edited by awolcott; 9th Jan 2012 at 03:57 pm. Reason: To say thanks

  4. #14
    Senior Member caddcop's Avatar
    Computer Details
    caddcop's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WinXP
    Computer:
    HP Tower- Dual Screens Windows 8.0 64 Bit
    Monitor:
    Dell and Viewsonic 22' Widescreens
    Discipline
    Civil
    caddcop's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CADD Manager - Civil/Survey
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Working with Land Desktop 2008 and 2009, Civil 3D 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 & 2013
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Maryland (DC Suburbs)
    Posts
    100

    Default

    That is correct. There is a family of construct points tools that is similar to measure/divide. And the snap divisor lets you set "midpoint" snaps, except that you can specify, thirds, quarters, fifths, etc. The shortcut key-in is KY=X where X is an integer number representing the number of segments to subdivide something into. Lets say you want to divide something into equal length segments and delete every other segment, leaving dashes and gaps, but want a dash at each end. Set a divisor that is an odd integer, like 7. With the partial delete command, you can delete the segment between the sixth and fifth segment. After you have completed that step, you would need to decrease the divisor by 2, since what is left is now 5 segments long. After deleting the fourth segment, reduce it to 3 and delete the middle third.
    It might be possible to make a macro that combines all of these steps based upon the length of the element, its end points and the number of segments desired.
    As this was the MicroStation forum, I answered with MicroStation work flows. I'm pretty sure that some of the lisp gurus could offer some thoughts.
    Last edited by caddcop; 10th Jan 2012 at 03:27 am. Reason: Additional thought

  5. #15
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x86
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5500 @ 2.80GHz
    RAM:
    4 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    9,966

    Default

    In AutoCAD you can WMFOUT then WMFIN, though the lines will need to be scaled once reinserted.

    I found a LISP HERE, did not check to see if it worked.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  6. #16
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    rickh's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    W7 x64
    RAM:
    8G
    Graphics:
    1G
    Discipline
    Structural
    rickh's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Designer
    Discipline
    Structural
    Using
    Civil 3D 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    155

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by awolcott View Post
    command for Autocad?
    looks like some lisp routines to do just what you want in Autocad:
    http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showth...Splitting-Line

Similar Threads

  1. Convert Any Length Arc into Equal Segments
    By EricDevault in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 25th Mar 2014, 09:56 pm
  2. Possible LISP request - Break up a circle into equal parts
    By CADMASTER1128 in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 17th Oct 2013, 12:38 pm
  3. how to divide an ellipse in equal segments?
    By pvd in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th Apr 2010, 07:51 am
  4. coplanar line segments over line segments
    By Spiderguy in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9th Feb 2009, 07:48 pm
  5. Break lines into individual segments?
    By nscherneck in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23rd Oct 2006, 11:29 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts