+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    71

    Question Moving a layout to another file

    I have two files. I messed one up I was using the solview method (I hear that method is outdated...) Anyway, I digress... and I rotated the model in the model tab creating quite a mess.

    Unfortunately, the layout associated with that file, is gorgeous. (ok, I'm biased.)

    I went looking around my flash drive, through the good graces of win explorer, and I found a file another file of the same project that was in better condition, because, the position of the model hadn't been moved. There is no layout associated with this file.

    However, I need to get the first layout over to this file. I thought of using the Autodesk Design Center (ADC) <---keyboard alias --- So, I did, but it wouldn't import the layout. It imported layout #2 which is just a copy of the model; which I don't need.

    It did say that it wouldn't import the titleblock, which is a block which was ignored. But everything I've drawn is *not* a block.

    So, how do I get that layout over to the other file, that has the good model?

    Thanks in advance.

    (Sorry for the long-ish post.)

    TMC
    Cadding like mad and getting nowhere fast

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,466

    Default

    To put it simply, you want to copy a layout from one drawing to another, right?

    I can't wait for a reply. Here you go. Lynn Allen explains it so well even a CADman can do it.

    http://lynn.blogs.com/lynn_allens_bl...o-another.html
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    71

    Default

    Thanks it worked like a charm.

    TMC
    Cadding like mad and getting nowhere fast

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,466

    Default

    You're entirely welcomed.

    SolView/SolDraw have their place in the bag of tricks available for extracting 2D views from 3D objects. Each user must decide for themselves what works best in any given situation.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  5. #5
    Senior Member daft vader's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2008
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    171

    Default

    Silly question but couldnt you just undo any changes you made to correct it ?

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    71

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    As they say in the other forum, of which I'm a member, (I'll paraphrase; using your word instead).

    There are no silly questions; only silly answers.

    daft vader: Great U/N by the way...I think I saved the changes to the file. So I was stuck. (I rotated the solview model; and it became out of place.)

    So, in my case, having a backup model, (thankfully) I found it easier just to move layouts from the model I rotated, to the one that was still in position.

    ReMark: I'm going to look into Flatshot, after my class is over. I've read somewhere that Solview/Soldraw is not the preferred method for data extraction.
    Cadding like mad and getting nowhere fast

Similar Threads

  1. Moving Layout Tabs
    By Simple153 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 8th Sep 2009, 11:25 pm
  2. moving mouse quickly causes cad file an error.
    By edwin in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th Aug 2009, 09:05 am
  3. Moving from Model to Layout view
    By AlexB in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th May 2009, 09:49 pm
  4. Moving image to layout template
    By JamFam in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 14th Feb 2009, 12:52 pm
  5. Moving Customization file from 2004 to 2008?
    By Dana in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14th Sep 2007, 11:17 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts