How to get start and end point of a single line pline

jeremyearle5

I need to know how to get the start and end points of a polyline. I'm a rookie at this and just learned how to pull out the start and endpoints of a line and when I went to do it to a polyline I was completely lost.

Another question: I use a comand that takes a line and turns it into a perforated line with each segment being a separate poly line. It creates them all in order down the line. Immediately following this command, would there be a way to call the first poly line created to extract its data, without manually selecting it?

I doubt this was how you did it way back on Autocad 2000, but on 2012 at the commandline type LIST> ENTER then select your polyline or line, or whatever else, then look down at the bottom of the list for the coordinates, as shown on the attachment.

Whoops, I have inadvertently strayed into the deep end of the pool, just noticed that you are looking for coding help. Never mind.

pline endpoint coordinated.jpg

Edited by Dadgad

I need to know how to get the start and end points of a polyline. I'm a rookie at this and just learned how to pull out the start and endpoints of a line and when I went to do it to a polyline I was completely lost.

Assuming you are referring to an LWPolyline entity and not a 3D Polyline or 2D Polyline, there are three ways that you can go about doing this:

1) Using the DXF Group codes of the LWPolyline entity:

The vertices of an LWPolyline are stored in multiple DXF Group 10 pairs, we can get them all using a simple foreach loop, then use the entries at each end of the list (noting that the list will be reversed by its construction using cons):

(foreach pair (entget <LWPolyline Entity>)
   (if (= 10 (car pair))
       (setq lst (cons (cdr pair) lst))
   )
)
(setq p1 (last lst))
(setq p2 (car  lst))

Or you can get the first and last pair directly from the start and end of the DXF data:

(setq el (entget <LWPolyline Entity>)