+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    10

    Question DWG Plotting at Horrible resolution, with blurry lines

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi all!

    I recently took a 3 day AutoCAD course in London and found it invaluable. I have been meaning to get AutoCAD sorted for so long so as to improve my workflow.

    Was looking forward so much to putting my new knowledge to use for a site plan, but got round to it finally, and now that I have made the plan and done the layout properly, the result is a shoddy piece of rubbish, no where near suitable for client hands. Even the house floor and wall textures are gone.

    Has anyone got any idea why it would be like this? I had set the page to print at 170mm x 290mm.

    Here is the print in question.

    Many thanks!

    NAILGUN

  2. #2
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,733

    Default

    What is it supposed to look like?
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    10

    Default

    This is the original DWG. Having quite a few problems with it : (

    Here it is.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Here is the attached DWG and how I wanted it to look really!

  5. #5
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    I'm sorry, I don't see the difference. Here is a screen shot of your dwg next to your pdf. Is it a display problem you are having or a print problem?
    nailgun.jpg
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    10

    Default

    If you look at the detail I put into the CAD drawing of the walls and dots on the floor for example, they just show up as grey in the print out. The detail is completely lacking.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    bill_borec's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 - 64 Bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS
    CPU:
    Intel i7-2600
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon HD 6700
    Monitor:
    Dual 24"s
    Discipline
    Civil
    bill_borec's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil PE
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Water Resources (Water/Sewer/Storm) Water/Wastewater Treatment Design
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    43.3630N 124.1947W
    Posts
    166

    Default Try masking

    Nailgun,

    Two things stand out to me...if I understand your concern/question properly:

    1. You might try masking the text (TEXTMASK) or turning ON the 'background' of the text in the attributes for the text elements inside the building. This will result in cleaning up the text over the hatch.

    2. The hatch appears to be too small of scale for your printout. If the dot hatch is too small, the dots will blend/melt together in the printout. Try a bigger scale and reprint.

    Hope this helps!

    Borec

  8. #8
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NAILGUN View Post
    If you look at the detail I put into the CAD drawing of the walls and dots on the floor for example, they just show up as grey in the print out. The detail is completely lacking.
    Ah, ok...I see it now. You're talking about that tiny hatch pattern. I thought it was a solid gray fill. Your dots hatch on the floor is scaled at 0.0003. Way too small for the average printer to reproduce. It will look like a solid fill. You'll need to increase that. Here is the same hatch at .03:

    nailgun2.jpg
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

  9. #9
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    Is this more like what you wanted to see? and yes, the dimensions are missing. When I exploded the block, the dims blew up so I erased them.

    You do know you can draw this stuff full scale and then plot to whatever scale you need it reduced to, right? Wouild make things a lot easier on you.

    nailgun.pdf
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

  10. #10
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    This is what it looks like on the Autocad screen now. Your linetype scales were set all to different values, which was why the letters didn't show up. I reset them all to .05
    nailgun3.jpg
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

Similar Threads

  1. How to reduce resolution...too many lines
    By aztech in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th Jul 2010, 05:45 am
  2. Palette Images Blurry in 2010
    By hokie555 in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 24th Nov 2009, 07:23 pm
  3. Losing Resolution when plotting to PDF
    By theimreman in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23rd Jun 2009, 04:03 am
  4. Loss of image resolution when plotting
    By V8S5 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22nd Dec 2008, 01:58 pm
  5. Cute pdf. Pdf file looks horrible
    By b.muqlueen in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 23rd Feb 2008, 09:30 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts