+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 28 of 28

Thread: Civil Drafting

  1. #21
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,446

    Default

    Don't put any dimensioning. For a quick location point draw a circle with its center point on the grid intersection for the nearest spot elevation you used in your calculations. The point at which the circle intersects the grid (between the two elevations you are working with) is where you insert your block (like the one I suggested). Then you can put your label (text) next to it. I'd instruct you about using attributes with a block but you seem to be struggling at the moment so we will steer clear of that. After you have inserted the block erase the circle. To check a dimension between two objects you can use the DISTANCE command (DI for short) and remember to use your OSnaps to make accurate picks. You are familiar with OSnaps right?

    Not sure about the "0"? In this exercise your new spot elevations should be going on a specific layer (probably called out in your project instructions) and not on layer "0".
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  2. #22
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Ellijay, GA.
    Posts
    72

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Don't put any dimensioning. For a quick location point draw a circle with its center point on the grid intersection for the nearest spot elevation you used in your calculations. The point at which the circle intersects the grid (between the two elevations you are working with) is where you insert your block (like the one I suggested). Then you can put your label (text) next to it. I'd instruct you about using attributes with a block but you seem to be struggling at the moment so we will steer clear of that. After you have inserted the block erase the circle. To check a dimension between two objects you can use the DISTANCE command (DI for short) and remember to use your OSnaps to make accurate picks. You are familiar with OSnaps right?

    Not sure about the "0"? In this exercise your new spot elevations should be going on a specific layer (probably called out in your project instructions) and not on layer "0".
    yes, I', familiar with it, I keep working on it.

  3. #23
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Ellijay, GA.
    Posts
    72

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bracken2 View Post
    yes, I', familiar with it, I keep working on it.
    ok I start over, on the part where I put my spot elevation,(xxx) it says to put the 3 x, on the lower-left corner, but my question is do they go on the left side or right, or bottom,

  4. #24
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,446

    Default

    Why don't you find the thread that has the images of this project included in it and take a look.

    Never mind. I found it for you. Personally I don't think it matters where it goes.

    http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showth...ect-help/page3
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  5. #25
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Ellijay, GA.
    Posts
    72

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Why don't you find the thread that has the images of this project included in it and take a look.

    Never mind. I found it for you. Personally I don't think it matters where it goes.

    http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showth...ect-help/page3
    here a update on my new drawing,I put the xxx, at the right side of the X
    Attached Files

  6. #26
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,446

    Default

    I'm not on my CAD computer at the moment but when I have the opportunity I'll take a look. Did you click on the link to the other thread I posted?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  7. #27
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Ellijay, GA.
    Posts
    72

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    I'm not on my CAD computer at the moment but when I have the opportunity I'll take a look. Did you click on the link to the other thread I posted?
    Yes, but they are different, I have been looking at the one you posted

  8. #28
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,446

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I don't think it's going to matter much. As long as the location of the symbol is correct relative to the grid and as long as you have the correct spot elevation assigned then I think you'll be fine.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

Similar Threads

  1. Civil Drafting
    By bracken2 in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 1st Jan 2012, 10:17 pm
  2. Civil Drafting Plate 2
    By wendymoose in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25th Aug 2011, 08:10 pm
  3. need help with civil drafting
    By Firligic in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 16th Jan 2011, 02:48 am
  4. Civil Drafting Textbook
    By BIGMIKE09281946 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 7th Sep 2009, 04:10 am
  5. Civil Drafting Standards
    By WannaBeCader in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13th Jan 2006, 03:31 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts