+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    huygen's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional SP2 Version 2002
    CPU:
    Intel Pentium Dual Core, 3.4 GHz
    RAM:
    3 GB
    Primary Storage:
    Seagate SATA 140 GB 5300 rpm
    Monitor:
    17 in LG Flatron CRT Monitor
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    45

    Default How To Create Ellipse In Autocad?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi everyone,

    Can someone please tell me how to create ellipse in autocad similar with below image?

    https://images.espocatalogue.org/2011/52221/thumb

    Thank you

    Huygen

  2. #2
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,717

    Default

    Type ellipse or _ellipse into the command line, or click on the elipse tool in your DRAW menu or toolbar.

    Click the begin point of the major axis, then the end point of the major axis, then move the cursor until the minor axis is the length you want. All done.


    If you run into trouble hit F1 and index to ellipse.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  3. #3
    Super Member Tankman's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tankman's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro SP3
    Computer:
    IBM T60 Thinkpad™
    Monitor:
    36" LCD Monitor/TV, 14" Thinkpad™ T60
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Eastern PA, USA
    Posts
    1,796

    Default

    Follow Dana's instructions, the ellispe will have a center point.
    You can copy 'n scale the original ellispe and paste along the center line(s).
    Last edited by Tankman; 16th Jan 2012 at 11:49 pm.
    Tankman

    "When the well is dry, we know the worth of water." Ben Franklin ~ 1746

  4. #4
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,579

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Watch the command line, after picking the two points for the ellipse you will see (Rotation) as an option, type R, enter, then enter an angle, in this case your template says 35d-16m. You will have to subtract that from 90 to get the angle you want in autocad.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

Similar Threads

  1. How to distinguish between Ellipse and Ellipse Arc?
    By Ahankhah in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 21st Sep 2011, 01:25 pm
  2. How to CReate 3d model on autocad? plz help
    By mikeyos in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 17th Aug 2011, 10:25 pm
  3. Can AutoCAD create designs like these?
    By Phoenix in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 7th Oct 2010, 10:47 am
  4. How to create a Table in AutoCAD?
    By huygen in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 30th Jun 2008, 09:56 am
  5. Can I create a text in AutoCAD?
    By BrianSouders in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th Aug 2006, 05:42 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts