+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie Shepherd Jim's Avatar
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Shepherd Jim's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    woodturner / shepherd
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Bristol, Maine USA
    Posts
    3

    Default Is AutoSketch 9 Stable on MS Windows 7 ??

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I'm a woodturner and farmer and infrequently use AutoSketch 9 to design barnyard equipment and and produce "art" for my paper and website product listings.

    Since moving up to Windows 7 (from XP Pro) I think I'm noticing signs of instability. AutoSketch 9 appears to run perfectly. But, opening and closing seem a little shaky -- I almost am always being presented with the question about whether or not to open a recovered file generated when I last exited the program.

    If the AutoDesk folks were not charging US$200+ for AutoSketch 10 I would most likely not be here asking the question -- just move up to 10.

    Does anyone know anything about AS 9 on Win 7 -- one way or the other??

    Thanks! Jim
    Bristol, Maine USA

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,776

    Default

    Maybe have to look at another program like Longbow to solve your stability issues. It too costs money that you may not wish to spend.

    A link for you.

    http://www.longbowsoftware.com/Tips_and_Tricks.php
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Shepherd Jim View Post
    I'm a woodturner and farmer and infrequently use AutoSketch 9 to design barnyard equipment and and produce "art" for my paper and website product listings.

    Since moving up to Windows 7 (from XP Pro) I think I'm noticing signs of instability. AutoSketch 9 appears to run perfectly. But, opening and closing seem a little shaky -- I almost am always being presented with the question about whether or not to open a recovered file generated when I last exited the program.

    If the AutoDesk folks were not charging US$200+ for AutoSketch 10 I would most likely not be here asking the question -- just move up to 10.

    Does anyone know anything about AS 9 on Win 7 -- one way or the other??

    Thanks! Jim
    Bristol, Maine USA

    Hi Jim,

    I have installed Autosketch on several Win7 Machines.

    Currently I have at home Autosketch 9 on a windows 7 x64 and at work on 2 x32 machines.

    Bests,
    Franco
    autosketch-cad-training.com

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,776

    Default

    kaos: Did you experience any problems during the installation of AutoSketch on your Win7 computer or have any advice regarding getting the program to operate you could share with Jim? Or was this pretty much a straightforward install?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Dell 22" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,026

    Default

    Hard to even think about AutoSketch anymore with free LT clones out there now. Jim have you looked at DraftSight, DoubleCAD XT and NanoCAD? All three are free LT clones that work very well.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    39,776

    Default

    Hey guys...we're all responding to a post made back in January by someone who appears to have only stopped in for a visit then vanished. Oops. LoL
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! I've gone over to the dark side.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Dell 22" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,026

    Default

    Doh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Huh I posted from, my iPod Touch and did not even look at the date.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  8. #8
    Forum Newbie Shepherd Jim's Avatar
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Shepherd Jim's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    woodturner / shepherd
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Bristol, Maine USA
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Hey Guys!

    Sorry about my silence. I am here and have been monitoring and reading along. It was impolite of me to not acknowledge your good thoughts and advice.

    I had downloaded and installed DraftSight which seems very interesting but didn't have any time to really give it a try. Life got in the way! I think that was about when two of the hard drives in my Windows Home Server crapped out and I had to begin backing up to a Drobo. Since last posting, I've also moved into a new smart phone and now our ewes have started having their lambs.

    At this point I have promised myself that, whatever happens, I am NOT going to lay out $200.00 for the newest AutoSketch. I'd have to say that AutoDesk's pricing is saying very clearly that they do not consider me a very important customer -- almost hoping I'll go away and stop bothering them.

    I expect I'll become a more regular member here as I start stubbing my toes climbing DraftSight's learning curve.

    Thanks! Jim

  9. #9
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Dell 22" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,026

    Default

    Hey Jim, I agree, $200 for AutoSketch is just silly. Well the good thing is that almost all of Draftsight's commands are almost the same as AutoCAD's. I am sure we all can figure it out. I had a copy of DraftSight installed on my PC but I removed it as I already had AutoCAD. It seemed very capable.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  10. #10
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Ops sorry, it's my fault the reply to the old post.
    In any case I had a clean install of both Autosketch 9 and 10 on Windows 7

    bests,
    Franco

Similar Threads

  1. AUTOSKETCH 9
    By paddy in forum Autodesk Software General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13th Oct 2011, 04:20 pm
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25th May 2011, 03:20 am
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 4th Feb 2009, 04:57 pm
  4. AutoSketch
    By squarebuzz in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6th May 2006, 06:08 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts