+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: steel shapes

  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    31

    Default steel shapes

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have a lisp that generates steel shapes. I am having trouble using it on autocad 2012. Can anyone tell me the way to put the program in autocad 2012. Also one of the forums told another user that that feature was already in 2012. ??? Where is it.

    Maybe I just don't know how to invoke the program. I dropped the lisp file in the bag in the applications pop up, where do I put all the data folders that are with the lisp file. It is already shown in the list of applications (however it is listed in a light grey color).

    The lisp program is a tip from cadylist. the first line to the lisp is:

    " ;Tip1779: STL.LSP STEEL SHAPES OF ALL TYPES AND SIZES (C)2002, Al Rogers $50 Bonus Winner
    ;STL.LSP Version 1.1 - Al's STEEL MILL "

    I have been away from acad for a while and am wondering if I have to edit the ;Tip1779; from the lisp file or what do I do to it if anything. And where do I put all the data folders that are with the lisp file.

  2. #2
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    I'm not much of a lisp programmer, but I can tell you that anything after a semicolon ";" is ignored by the software as a comment. I use 2010, so 2012 may be different, but I'm guessing you either didn't load the program correctly or put it in the wrong directory or something.

    One of the 2012 users will show up in a bit and give you better instructions.
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,865

    Default

    You will find some steel shapes in the form of Dynamic Blocks on one of the tool palettes. There are steel beams for use with both imperial and metric users so don't use the wrong one. I think it is the Structural palette if I am not mistaken however since I am not on my cad computer at the moment I cannot confirm that for you.

    A jump from 2002 to 2012 is significant. It could be that a lisp command has been dropped or replaced that was used in the lisp routine you are trying to use.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    31

    Default thanks

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    You will find some steel shapes in the form of Dynamic Blocks on one of the tool palettes. There are steel beams for use with both imperial and metric users so don't use the wrong one. I think it is the Structural palette if I am not mistaken however since I am not on my cad computer at the moment I cannot confirm that for you.

    A jump from 2002 to 2012 is significant. It could be that a lisp command has been dropped or replaced that was used in the lisp routine you are trying to use.
    It is under the structural pallet. Lots of help here.

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,865

    Default

    We try our best. You just happened to inquire at a bit of a slow period.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    3,444

    Default

    The Program is called Al's Steel Mill, and I've been using it for years. It works fine in 2012, just unzip the files, and make sure add the path to that folder to your AutoCAD2012 support paths

  7. #7
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by onkelbob View Post
    It is under the structural pallet. Lots of help here.
    It was Sunday afternoon when you posted, after all. Not a lot of activity on here on weekends, and especially Sundays.

    did you check to see if you'd added the program and it's files to the correct folder, or added a path to it as Nestly suggested?
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

  8. #8
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,865

    Default

    I was right. Tool Palettes > Structural tab > Beams and Channels are both available.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    12,108

    Default

    There is a STL_Help.txt in the folder with all the information to install Al's Steel Mill.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  10. #10
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by onkelbob View Post
    It is under the structural pallet. Lots of help here.
    Yes this is fine but there are steel angles also used in steel design, they are also a pain to draw every time. I still would like to load my lisp program

Similar Threads

  1. Steel Shapes
    By Lemmesee in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 6th Nov 2014, 07:06 pm
  2. Mechanical BOM partslist with steel shapes
    By JoeC in forum Mechanical & MDT
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 6th Mar 2012, 07:30 am
  3. steel shapes. (sections)
    By IdoBrickner in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 14th Apr 2011, 04:22 am
  4. Steel shapes
    By bolton78 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd Jun 2008, 02:38 pm
  5. Structural steel shapes and dimensions catalog.
    By b.muqlueen in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 8th Feb 2008, 05:26 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts