+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Quadro vs Geforce in terms of AutoCAD performance?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi,

    My dad, who is a heavy user of AutoCAD, is looking to buy a new graphics card for his machine. Currently his computer only has the onboard GPU integrated in the motherboard, and he has been complaining about the slow performance in AutoCAD.

    So naturally he asked me to look for a new budget card, but I'm not quite sure about what are the advantages of Quadro cards. I was looking at the Quadro 400, and GeForce GTS 450 as candidates for his machine. Naturally, as a gamer, I would assume that the GTS 450 is better, as the specifications are much higher, with double the amount of CUDA cores. However, the Quadro is more expensive and boasts GPU acceleration for AutoCAD, but has half the cores, so there has to be something that I'm missing here.

    He's also looking for dual monitor support, which is clear on the GTS 450, but I am unsure about the Quadro.

    If anyone could help me make a more informed decision, it would be greatly appreciated. What would you recommend getting? The Quadro or GeForce?

    Thanks!
    Jitin

  2. #2
    Forum Deity Jack_O'neill's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jack_O'neill's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Jack_O'neill's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    The bulk of my business is commercial curtainwall, site plans and floor plans. I do occasionally get a bit of tool and die, and the odd house now and again.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    lost in the Arkansas wilderness
    Posts
    2,146

    Default

    I have a Geforce in my cad machine. It's an older one now, but I never have any problems with it.
    Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes your time and annoys the pig. -Robert Heinlein

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,122

    Default

    I too used a Geforce card in a previous home system and it performed adequately. I have a Quadro 4000 in my work computer and it is a very nice card but it is somewhat expensive. If budget is a problem then go with the GeForce.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Super Member ScribbleJ's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ScribbleJ's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3500
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU W3530 @ 2.8GHz 2800 Mhz
    RAM:
    12 gig
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600
    Primary Storage:
    237 GB
    Monitor:
    Main: Dell 2408 Aux: Dell 1703FP
    Discipline
    Civil
    ScribbleJ's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Design Tech for Water / Waste Water Industry.
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Roadway designs, water and waste-water treatment systems and water distribution systems.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2011
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Rancho Cordova, CA
    Posts
    539

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    I too used a Geforce card in a previous home system and it performed adequately. I have a Quadro 4000 in my work computer and it is a very nice card but it is somewhat expensive. If budget is a problem then go with the GeForce.
    I agree with ReMark. I have a Geforce at home and the Quadro at work and I do not see any difference. However there is a 'but' to this. Quadro's drivers are specifically designed with graphics design in mind whereas Geforce cards are not. Check out Tom's Hardware article about this here <<<(Click that word right there).
    Calvin
    Soli Deo Gloria

  5. #5
    Forum Deity BlackBox's Avatar
    Computer Details
    BlackBox's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1 Professional, Server 2012 R2 Datacenter
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3600
    CPU:
    Hex-Core Intel Xeon 3.2Ghz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    3GB NVIDIA Quadro K4000
    Primary Storage:
    256GB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB Western Digital VelociRaptor 10K RPM
    Monitor:
    Dual 24" Dell Ultrasharp Widescreen Monitors
    Using
    Civil 3D 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4,751

    Default

    I use an AMD Radeon (home - MacBook Pro & VMWare/BootCamp), and a Nvidia Quadro 3000M (work - Dell Precision M6600), without issue.
    "Potential has a shelf life." - Margaret Atwood
    AutoCAD® 2014, and Civil 3D® 2014 Certified Professional | Autodesk® Authorized Developer
    Autodesk Exchange Apps ~ Autoloader ~ AutoCAD Security

  6. #6
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,797

    Default

    No need for a high-priced Quadro unless you have an exact need for it. Use the Autodesk Certified Hardware tool here:
    http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet...12&id=16391880

    Go by that and find a gaming card in the $60 to $100+ range and you'll be just fine. If you have a higher budget then obviously get better and faster.
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    15

    Default

    I tend to agree with the non need for a high end card as I built up a high end workstation with a Quadro 4000 and my cad performance in 3d modeling is not much better than my old 32bit computer with a small $75 FireGL card.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Dell 22" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,075

    Default

    I also agree. Quadro FX 580 on a dual core Xeon at work and a GeForce GT430 on a quad core AthlonII at home. Acad is just about the same on both in terms of smoothness in it's use and performance. SketchUp tends to be a bit smoother on the GF unit. I imagine that shaded display on the Quadro would be a bit better than the GF but probably not by much.

    Edit: My Quadro has support for 3 monitors. My GF has DVI, VGA and HDMI. I would look to see that whatever card you get has DX11 and OpenGL 4.0 support. These are emerging technologies that you might as well be ready for.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  9. #9
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    cjsilen's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64bit
    CPU:
    I7
    RAM:
    16 GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 2000
    Primary Storage:
    120 GB Solid State Drive
    Monitor:
    Dual 24" Samsung HD
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Omaha NE
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Hi guys, I believe that there are some areas that should be explained in a little more detail. I am a Heavy CAD user and know the reasons why one is better than the other. When you do regular 2D CAD it doesn't matter much which one you use for it will not make a lot of difference. When you are working onbig 3D files, that is when the quadro will give you the advantage. Quadro's are optimized for 3D solids and to give an example, a 40 megabyte 3D drawing can take up to 10 minutes or more to regen with a cheap gaming card as opposed to less than a minute with a quadro. That will basically sum it up.

  10. #10
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,797

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Those statistics doesn't sound right to me. Also, it seems Autodesk is leaning more towards Direct3D drivers instead of OpenGL drivers. The new 2013 versions of Revit and AutoCAD are even taking advantage of Windows Advanced Rasterization Platform (WARP) which is a newer development of D3D. It seems OpenGL have been sitting idle for a long time now while Microsoft has really been revamping their drivers. In a lot of cases, gaming cards are out performing workstations by a good margin. I know f700 found some good articles not too long ago that showed statistical evidence for this.
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

Similar Threads

  1. Nvidia GeForce vs Quadro for various Autodesk programs
    By ctclothbagco in forum Autodesk Software General
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 16th Jul 2012, 12:54 pm
  2. Geforce vs Quadro
    By guitarguy1685 in forum Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 1st Mar 2010, 11:54 am
  3. Autocad Performance
    By RyanAtNelco in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 29th Apr 2009, 05:36 pm
  4. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 4th Feb 2009, 04:57 pm
  5. Does anyone use a GeForce or Radeon graphics card with AutoCAD 2007?
    By mcconahey in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 21st Oct 2006, 06:14 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts