+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Mechanical 2009
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default Dimension units change after saving

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I'm having an issue with dimensions changing from when I save the drawing to when I reopen it.

    I'm using AutoCAD Mechanical 2009, exclusively in 2D. I save drawings in AutoCAD 2000/LT 2000 Drawing format to maintain backwards compatibility with our legacy documents which are still in regular use.

    The exact process is:
    1. Create dimension in existing drawing.
    2. Set units of dimension. Typically this is fractional.
    3. Save and close drawing.
    4. Reopen drawing, and all of the dimensions units are set to decimal to the fourth decimal point.

    If I interact with the dimension in any way, it will return to its set unit. For example, if I double click on it to bring up the Power Dimensioning window and just click Okay without altering anything, it will change back to its set unit. Likewise, if I move the dimension itself it will return to its set unit as well.

    So far my solution has been to simply select the entire drawing at once, then move it X units one way, then X units back. The move back and forth will return all the dimensions to their set units.

    Obviously this is not ideal, especially when sending drawings to co-workers who are unaware of the issue or even using different versions of AutoCAD.

    Thanks for any help.

  2. #2
    Super Member DANIEL's Avatar
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    DANIEL's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Industrial
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Arlington Texas
    Posts
    1,004

    Default

    I've had thias problem but for the life of me can't remember how I fixed it, I know you could always purge everything and redimension it but I know there is a way to fix it, hopefuly someone else around here will remember lol.
    If you would like to help my 2 year old niece Alaina in her battle against Leukemia you can donate blood at any Carter Blood Care and put SPON050875 on the donor form. Thank you so much for any contributions in this matter that you can make.

    Luminous beings are we, not this crude matter.

  3. #3
    Super Member DANIEL's Avatar
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    DANIEL's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Industrial
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Arlington Texas
    Posts
    1,004

    Default

    set your dimassoc to 1 instead of 2
    If you would like to help my 2 year old niece Alaina in her battle against Leukemia you can donate blood at any Carter Blood Care and put SPON050875 on the donor form. Thank you so much for any contributions in this matter that you can make.

    Luminous beings are we, not this crude matter.

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Mechanical 2009
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DANIEL View Post
    set your dimassoc to 1 instead of 2
    It is already set to 1

  5. #5
    Super Member Murph_map's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Murph_map's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP,Visa, Win7
    Computer:
    HP something or other and the laptop is an HP too
    RAM:
    2 gigs or 6 gigs in Laptop
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Murph_map's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Boats and campers renting and repairs
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Details
    GIS and Map making.
    Using
    Map 3D 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    TN or KY depends if I'm at work or home.
    Posts
    823

    Default

    Create your own dim style and use that instead of the standard power dim style. ?
    Murph

    Need a boat or camper for the weekend?

  6. #6
    Super Member DANIEL's Avatar
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    DANIEL's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Industrial
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Arlington Texas
    Posts
    1,004

    Default

    are you dimensioning though a view port in paperspace or are you in model space?
    If you would like to help my 2 year old niece Alaina in her battle against Leukemia you can donate blood at any Carter Blood Care and put SPON050875 on the donor form. Thank you so much for any contributions in this matter that you can make.

    Luminous beings are we, not this crude matter.

  7. #7
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    3,049

    Default

    Perhaps the Visual Fidelity setting in Options?
    Can you post a sample drawing saved to 2000 format so we can check if it's an issue with the drawing, or whether it's a setting in your AutoCAD?

  8. #8
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Mechanical 2009
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DANIEL View Post
    are you dimensioning though a view port in paperspace or are you in model space?
    Everything is in model space. The way our company uses AutoCAD is pretty crude, we never use paper space.



    Quote Originally Posted by nestly View Post
    Perhaps the Visual Fidelity setting in Options?
    Can you post a sample drawing saved to 2000 format so we can check if it's an issue with the drawing, or whether it's a setting in your AutoCAD?
    I just set Visual Fidelity (though SAVEFIDELITY) to 0 instead of 1, and it appears to solve the issue. I've checked it with several drawings that have been giving me trouble and it appears to work with all of them.

    Thank you all for the help, if I encounter any more problems with it I'll post a sample drawing.

  9. #9
    Super Member DANIEL's Avatar
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    DANIEL's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Industrial
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Arlington Texas
    Posts
    1,004

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    oh, and welcome to CADtutor davidad , glad nestly got you helped out.
    If you would like to help my 2 year old niece Alaina in her battle against Leukemia you can donate blood at any Carter Blood Care and put SPON050875 on the donor form. Thank you so much for any contributions in this matter that you can make.

    Luminous beings are we, not this crude matter.

Similar Threads

  1. Dimension Units
    By ryank7 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27th Sep 2011, 01:07 pm
  2. dimension & units
    By 19cruthik68 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 6th Sep 2011, 04:40 pm
  3. Cannot change units
    By elashish in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 6th Jun 2008, 11:11 pm
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th Jun 2006, 07:30 pm
  5. Dimension Architectural Units
    By Brunello19 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 17th May 2005, 02:28 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts