+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default "Coordinate dimensions"

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    1. In autocad 8, how could I get the XYZ coodinates of a point, on the drawing. With ID or list command it is possible to get the coordinates of a point, but they would not appear on the drawing the way dimensions do.

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,360

    Default

    You could use a custom lisp routine. That would be one option.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,720

    Default

    MTEXT with a field.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  4. #4
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,964

    Default

    If you create an Mtext. and insert a field in the right click menu to specify the object and location it will display the coordinates, per SLW210's suggestion.
    You probably want to set a DDPTYPE for you point first, so you can see it, as I have.
    Attached Images
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,360

    Default

    Can it be set up to display Northing and Easting? Example: N202,456.73, E67,339.01
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,964

    Default

    I am clueless as regards northing and easting, but if you assign geographic values to your drawing you could get it to display longitude and lattitude.

    I made a simple Mtext, and couldn't get it to display better than this, but with a multiline text you could.
    Attached Images
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,360

    Default

    Many state plane coordinate systems utilize northings and eastings not latitude and longitude. I was just curious. In my job I seldom encounter these types of situations and if I do I use a custom lisp routine that adds the "N" and the "E" designations to the front of the coordinate.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,039

    Default

    Once you get into Mtext with fields, don't be too greedy and get the position x, y and z all in one go. Format as desired. These are based on the Insertion Point (Top Left)
    Attached Images

  9. #9
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,360

    Default

    eldon is on a tear today. He's just knocking these babies out of the ballpark.

    Unnecessary
    Last edited by SLW210; 14th Feb 2012 at 09:39 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #10
    Super Member Murph_map's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Murph_map's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7, Win 8
    Computer:
    HP something or other and the laptop is an HP too
    RAM:
    2 gigs or 6 gigs in Laptop
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Murph_map's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Boats and campers renting and repairs
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Details
    GIS and Map making.
    Using
    Map 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    TN or KY depends if I'm at work or home.
    Posts
    920

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Many state plane coordinate systems utilize northings and eastings not latitude and longitude. I was just curious. In my job I seldom encounter these types of situations and if I do I use a custom lisp routine that adds the "N" and the "E" designations to the front of the coordinate.
    How about creating a block to display it and insert the blocks where you need the text/labels.
    http://www.lazydrafter.com/autocad-t...ck-with-fields
    Murph

    Need a boat or camper for the weekend?

Similar Threads

  1. "Hidden" line turns to "continuous" in layout view
    By jeck in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 29th Mar 2015, 03:36 am
  2. Dimensions Print "Outlined"
    By Burner in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 31st May 2011, 08:33 pm
  3. (read (strcat "(" "TUBE150X150X4.5 20.2" ")"))
    By muthu123 in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 21st Jun 2010, 03:40 am
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25th Nov 2009, 06:35 pm
  5. Dimensions show up as half of "real world" measurement
    By commuter in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 31st Mar 2008, 10:31 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts