Which is best???

Greendamo

Hi im a AutoCad user and have been for many years 3D and 2D. I want to make the move in to a more modern 3D software but im stuck between 2 choices, Inventor or Solidworks! Which is going to benefit me more and kinda more future proof?

I work in the woodwork industry.

Thanks

Damian

I will make a bet; those that started with and use Solid Works will recommend Solid Works. Those that started with and use Inventor will recommend Inventor. :wink:

I will recommend Inventor simply because if you are used to AutoCAD, you will recognize the structure of Inventor. That said, I started with Inventor and have never seen more than demos of Solid Work.

See, I won my bet! :D

Inventor, reason: *see above* :) Also, I like to go with the Autodesk 'version' of a package everytime, just because certain symbols/icons etc are the same so it makes it easier to learn. Sounds lazy, it probably is.

The bonus is that if you get AutoCAD free when you buy Inventor. The last time I had to purchase it for a company was Inv2009 (I think) and that was the case anyways.

Thanks! I also kinda think that Inventor is the way to go, mainly because of the look of inventor looks similar and the commands are the same, or some of them.

my local collage only does classes in solidworks though so it makes me think.. is this going to be the industry standard in a few years???

That said, I hope not because im a great lover of Autodesk! no:

My personal opinion is that the DWG-format will be the industry standard (depending on the industry ofc) for many more years to come.

Which of Inventor or Solid Works will be strongest in the future - I think we can mind as well speculate about the weather.

Autodesk is a very strong player in the field, but as always with big dogs in the arena - there will always be smaller dogs waiting to bite them in the... foot :)