+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2000
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default Insert raster image white is grey

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I'm trying to insert a raster image by just, insert raster image.
    the image is a jpg. file and is in greyscale.

    it is a logo. the logo is in black and the background is white.

    when i insert and print it shows up alright but the parts that are supposed
    to be white print out as a light grey.

    Can anyone help with this?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,733

    Default

    Is it just printing light gray or is it light gray in AutoCAD? Can you post the image or one with similar behavior?
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    nicolas's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Intel Dual Core 64 Bits
    RAM:
    2 GB
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Rose Hill, Republic of Mauritius
    Posts
    415

    Default

    Try to open the drawing in paint, save as 256 Color Bitmap, insert the new raster image into autocad, right click and in properties set background transparency to YES. If there are more than 1 images to convert, I think you should use a picture viewer that has batch conversion as one of its features. There are many out there that can do the job quick and neat.

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2000
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default Insert raster image white is grey....contd

    hi, thanks for the responses this is great!
    well i tried the 256 bitmap per nicolas but result came out the same.
    i have attached a snapshot of what i have, you can't tell from whats shown [and i've painted out private info but have bubbled the raster images which show frame around]. the greyish parts don't show up as a pdf or on preview but when they come out of the printer it shows greyish.
    Could this be a printer issue instead of image? using a commercial canon imagerunner printer/copier at the office.

    any suggestions?
    grey on white.jpg

  5. #5
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,733

    Default

    Most likely a printer issue. Are you printing color, monochrome or grayscale?
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2000
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default

    i should be printing in grayscale....i think.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    nicolas's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Intel Dual Core 64 Bits
    RAM:
    2 GB
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Rose Hill, Republic of Mauritius
    Posts
    415

    Default

    Ifs its ok on pdf and print preview, you can be sure it is printer-related. It may also be a setting in your printer. You may print the pdf on another printer and see if there is a difference.

  8. #8
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,043

    Default

    If you are scanning the image, perhaps you could save it as a black and white Tiff image. When you insert this raster image, you can turn transparency on and there would no grey printing.

  9. #9
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2000
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    so I printed on another printer......looks like i will have to figure out printer settings as it came out okay on the other machine.
    thanks for all the help everyone.
    [will try also the last to convert to tiff but not sure how this would help in anyway].

Similar Threads

  1. Insert raster image by attribute value
    By grazwelis in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 6th Apr 2012, 08:03 pm
  2. Insert Raster Image Ref - customer can't see it
    By RingSteel in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 20th Aug 2008, 09:54 pm
  3. Insert Raster Image Ref. - Plotting
    By RingSteel in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 7th Apr 2008, 03:55 pm
  4. Insert a Raster Image in Auto Cad LT 2008
    By solofusion in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 1st Apr 2008, 11:43 pm
  5. How to remove frame around raster image insert?
    By bloke in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 28th Sep 2005, 03:20 am

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts