+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 15 of 15
  1. #11
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I appreciate that, thank you.

    do you know if people ever use autocad with cinema 4D (its just so easy to use compared to 3D Max)?

  2. #12
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    25

    Default

    my god i feel like such a noob.

    ok, 3DS Max or 3DS Design Max? Can 3DS Max do everything 3DS Design can do? we don't want to limit ourselves to just Architect work. we would like to take on other jobs that might be graphic design or other 3D projects. but we definitely want the "Design" features as well. I think 3DS Max covers everything the "Design" version does.

    i really wish we could just use Cinema 4D, the app is nice, easy and fun

  3. #13
    Senior Member khama's Avatar
    Computer Details
    khama's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate
    Computer:
    INTEL CUSTOM i5
    Motherboard:
    GIGABYTE HD55-UD3A i7
    CPU:
    CORE I5 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    6GB CORSAIR DDR-3
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 3800 Graphics adapter - 1 GB - GDDR3 SDRAM
    Primary Storage:
    SAMSUNG 660GB SATA
    Secondary Storage:
    SAMSUNG 1TB
    Monitor:
    2 x DELL PRECISION 30"
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    khama's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Project Leader, Engineering, Oil and Gas and Materials Handling
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Mechanical is my strongest Discipline. Civil and Structural are all strengths for me too.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    206

    Default

    Got to say, have never used Cinema 4D before so can not comment on that one. If you find it easier to use and can get the same results, then sure why not use it. Vray materials, lights and cameras do a magnificent job rendering and that is why I use 3d Max. I will have to have a look at Cinema 4D and see what it can do.
    Khama
    Bachelor of Science Mechanical Engineering
    Diploma Civil & Structural Engineering
    Diploma Engineering NDT

  4. #14
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Thanks, Khama.

    I was just thinking it would be best to follow what the industry uses.

    So what about:

    3DS Max

    or

    3DS Max Design?

    The lady at AutoDesk said 3DS Max Design is more for autocad professionals and the 3DS Max is geared towards character and animation. So I would want the design package? Does that mean that i can't do simple animation with 3DS Max Design?

    I know this sounds simple but the answer isn't clear.

  5. #15
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    3D Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    9,027

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    You can do animation in both packages.

    Check the Autodesk website for detailed information about the two different versions: http://usa.autodesk.com/3ds-max/features/. They are basically the same, with a few exceptions.

    What industry will you be working in?
    Personal Website: ( Updated 03/21/2014 ) ---> http://www.rdeweese.com/

    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

Similar Threads

  1. Judge the scale in Model Space in Auto CAD
    By CAD<LIFE in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 4th Jun 2007, 02:30 pm
  2. how to judge your progress??
    By expaddy in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 8th Dec 2003, 08:26 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts