+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 45
  1. #21
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,078

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    A desktop computer with an Intel i5 or i7 (2nd generation) CPU would be a good choice.

    Maybe you could bump the RAM (just thinking ahead) to 6 or even 8GB and then add a mid-range graphics card rather than going with an onboard graphics chip.

    It might be nice to know what kind of budget you have to work with so you can play around with the configuration if you need to.

    I'd also look into a 21" LCD widescreen monitor.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  2. #22
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,792

    Default

    8GB RAM is minimum. I'd recommend 16GB.
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

  3. #23
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,078

    Default

    16GB RAM? Well there goes the budget. Might have to forego the graphics card. LoL
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #24
    Full Member myself's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Portugal - Porto
    Posts
    97

    Default

    Since you told me how towork with constructs, things have been good, i feel like the computer answers all what i ask it, however when i open the general view that i've created with all the spaces, i can barely walk through the model to see how things work together. And the building is not even half of what has to be in the end. Do you have any tip of how to manage with big models?

    And about the computer,your right, my machine is nice…. And i really like to work on my laptop, this way i can take everything home with me and even look at it on weekends or show to some friends to discuss what i am doing right or wrong.

  5. #25
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,078

    Default

    Laptops are much easier to 1) lose, 2) steal, 3) spill a drink on and 4) knock off the table and onto the floor too.

    You'll also have to shell out more money for a laptop with a dedicated graphics card and 16GB of RAM.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #26
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,792

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    16GB RAM? Well there goes the budget. Might have to forego the graphics card. LoL
    16GB RAM is only $80.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...CE&PageSize=50
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

  7. #27
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,792

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by myself View Post
    Since you told me how towork with constructs, things have been good, i feel like the computer answers all what i ask it, however when i open the general view that i've created with all the spaces, i can barely walk through the model to see how things work together. And the building is not even half of what has to be in the end. Do you have any tip of how to manage with big models?
    Best thing to do is to not use AutoCAD MEP to "walk through" the model.

    What I do is export the model as a 3D DWFx file, and use Design Review to view the model. So much better in performance and looks.
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

  8. #28
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,078

    Default

    I suspect that RAM, like anything else, is going to be much higher over in Portugal.

    I'd been helping a former CADTutor member who lives in the Philippines get parts for his computer and in some cases it is cheaper for me to buy the parts here and mail them to him than it is to buy them there. Also, you wouldn't believe the cheap stuff they get from China by companies I never heard of. If you want anything of "quality" you end up either not being able to find it or if you do it costs an arm and a leg.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #29
    Full Member myself's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Portugal - Porto
    Posts
    97

    Default

    Here I am again with some questions about Autocad MEP with the perspective of accomplish with success my model.

    By the way,I already got my new computer, pretty impressive machine, with 16GB of memory,120GB of hard disk, though a new generation of hard disks, much faster than the old ones according to the guy that brought the computer, and i3-2130 CPU3.40GHz processor. The only problem was the graphic card which is on board, not exactly what I expected, but they asked me to try for some days and then we would talk about it. Their point is that the computer has a lot of memory and it can perfectly shared for graphic purpose.

    Anyway, the real reason than brings me here, is that “StykFacE” mention that to make it easier watch their models, he exports the model to 3d DWF, I’ve done that and it worked pretty nice, however my question is if can change the presentation mode just like I do on Autocad, from Hidden to Realistic, Shaded and so on.

    Don’t be mad with just because I make this questions, i am really excited with this model and I feel comfortable to come here and ask about everything.

  10. #30
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,792

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    With Autodesk Design Review 2012, under the Home Tab > View Panel, there's an option to switch view modes from Shaded, Edges Only, and Shaded with Edges.
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24th Mar 2011, 12:30 pm
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24th Mar 2011, 12:30 pm
  3. one seat - two installations
    By fle in forum Software & Licensing
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10th Aug 2010, 03:00 am
  4. Get AutoCAD installations on workstation in VBA
    By MSasu in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 17th Feb 2010, 01:10 pm
  5. HVAC...
    By Dave-CSMW in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 26th Sep 2009, 01:10 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts