+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    Wigman's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Discipline
    Civil
    Wigman's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Manager
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Wigan
    Posts
    4

    Default Title Block as Block not Xref (ProjectWise))

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi All,

    First time poster, i have what i feel is quite a complex issue, but im sure (or I hope) there will be someone who will know a suitably quick solution.

    Basically I am CAD Manager for a large project within a consultancy, and we are using ProjectWise for sotring drawings. Our site covers a long distance 14km or so so for each element of design there are 88 sepearte views, prior to my arrival there has been set up 88 seperate templates for each view. Sensible enough you might say but, these frames have been done as a block, with the title block attributes having ben lniked with projectwise. The client now wants to make a changhe to that frame, which I have told the management will be a monumentus task, 88 templates to change never mind the coulpe of hundred drawings already created. Understandable they are not happy about this, as it is usually company CAD standard to Xref the frame in and have the attributed title as a block.

    My question is, could I write someknid of script that could open each template drawing, remove the frame from the linked title block, xref it back in from a centralised version which can then be updated for all when neccessary.

    Hope this makes sense, please aske for any further clarifcation if needed.

    Regards

    Wigman.

  2. #2
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,964

    Default

    Welcome to the forum. This sounds more daunting than it likely is. Sheet set manager may come into play. I have never used ProjectWise. You might want to check on LEE MAC's website to see if he might have a solution there for you. No doubt one of the 'lisperati' will rise to the challenge, just give them a while, somebody will sort you out.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    Wigman's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Discipline
    Civil
    Wigman's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Manager
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Wigan
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi Dadgad,

    Thanks for your response, yes that's what I was hoping, ill check out Lee Mac's site in the mean time. Thanks for the warm wlecome.

    Wigman

Similar Threads

  1. problem with changing layer color in Xref title block
    By cadmando2 in forum CAD Management
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 28th Jan 2009, 12:35 am
  2. Title Blocks as an Xref or a Block?
    By chulse in forum CAD Management
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 27th Jul 2008, 09:10 pm
  3. Title Block or XRef Issues - please help!
    By TMC2004 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23rd Jan 2008, 10:33 pm
  4. Xref Title Block And Notes In Paperspace
    By BIGPLC in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17th Nov 2007, 05:45 pm
  5. INSERTING AN XREF TITLE BLOCK
    By BRENT in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 25th Sep 2003, 07:53 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts