+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 15 of 15
  1. #11
    Super Member Bill Tillman's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    1,268

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I really must be in the dark on this. I need a way to list all the blocks that are related to this drawing. The model space is empty...nothing is drawn in it at the moment. But the AutoCAD drawing file contains all these block references that are unique to this drawings and that is what I need a list of. Lee-Mac's program looked like it was going to do the trick but when I ran it, it only listed three blocks, which are the title blocks on the layout pages, so it's only listing the blocks which are in use.

    If I type the command "block" it brings up a menu which contains a drop down list which shows all the blocks currently saved in this drawing. I want to make a listing of these to see what I have or more important, what I don't have saved in this drawing for now.
    It's deja vu, all over again.

  2. #12
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,058

    Default

    Have you tried the keyboard method of listing blocks?

    -b (enter)
    ? (enter) (enter)

    and there is your list of blocks in the drawing

  3. #13
    Super Member Bill Tillman's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    1,268

    Default

    Thanks, that at least gets me a list of all the user blocks related to this drawing file, there are 147 of them and I'm not done yet. The method of listing is actually like this:

    -b <enter>
    ? <enter>
    * <enter>

    This listed all the blocks but unfortunately it does not list the description field which I so painstakingly field out each time I created or added a block to this file. Many of the block names are from this client's library and have only cryptic names like T1 or A-33, which tells me nothing about what it is.
    It's deja vu, all over again.

  4. #14
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,058

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill Tillman View Post
    The method of listing is actually like this:

    -b <enter>
    ? <enter>
    * <enter>
    If you carefully examine the type of brackets on the prompt line, when you see [?], you have to enter the character in the bracket, but when you see <*>, that is the default setting for that prompt, and you only need to press Enter to activate it.

    Perhaps your version of AutoCAD gives different brackets

    Command: -b
    -BLOCK
    Enter block name or [?]: ?

    Enter block(s) to list <*>:

    Defined blocks.

  5. #15
    Quantum Mechanic Lee Mac's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Lee Mac's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate (32-bit)
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Lee Mac's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Custom Programming / Software Customisation
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    19,368

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by mdbdesign View Post
    Try Lee tool:
    http://www.lee-mac.com/blockcounter.html

    (I am not on commision)
    Haha! Thanks Marek

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill Tillman View Post
    I really must be in the dark on this. I need a way to list all the blocks that are related to this drawing. The model space is empty...nothing is drawn in it at the moment.
    As you've probably guessed by now, BCount, DataExtraction and my program will count Block References (i.e. those that are inserted in the drawing), not Block Definitions.

    To see what Definitions exist in a drawing, Elson has provided a method using the -Block command.

    Here is another quickly written LISP snippet:

    Code:
    (defun c:listblocks ( / a )
        (while (setq a (tblnext "BLOCK" (null a)))
            (print (cdr (assoc 2 a)))
        )
        (princ)
    )
    Lee Mac ProgrammingTwitterExchange App StoreDropbox (500MB free)

    With Mathematics there is the possibility of perfect rigour, so why settle for less?

Similar Threads

  1. List of blocks??
    By AQucsaiJr in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 13th Aug 2010, 03:27 pm
  2. list blocks in drawing
    By redgar in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22nd Apr 2009, 07:12 am
  3. List of Blocks
    By Designer in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 5th Mar 2008, 07:58 pm
  4. List and/or display all BLOCKS in an open drawing.
    By JimWebster in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 14th Mar 2005, 11:05 pm
  5. List all blocks in a drawing (database?)
    By vldazzle in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10th Oct 2004, 05:16 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts