+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2012

Default Block size is driving me nuts

Registered forum members do not see this ad.

Hi all,

Ok, so I am a newbie here (and to AutoCAD). I did attend a beginners 4-day course a few months ago (before I got CAD in work) and I've forgotten half of it.

I started on a new template - changed 'units' to architectural as this project needs to be measured in feet & inches. I started a general floor plan (mainly by using straight lines to mark out rooms etc.) All fairly simply. Then I came to putting in doors and went straight to 'blocks' only to find that there obviously wasn't any there.

Through the help of online tutorials, I've drafted a new block called 'door' designed it (straight line & arc etc.) and edited the block to apply 'stretch' and 'flip' commands. All ok.

I set up a new layer called 'Doors' (just in case I want to hide them at some point) and set it as 'current'. When I inserted a block of the door - the scale of it is totally wrong?

I went back in to block editor and the door is set up properly. The properties say all measurements are correct, but the inserted door is tiny. (I can obviously adjust it on screen to look right, but when I use the measure tool to check - what should be a 3'6" door it only measures 1'10" - even though it looks right?)

I've tried block editor a million times - and tool palettes too, but I can't figure out why the door is not inserting into the drawing to scale?

Please help - I'm hitting my head off a brick wall here...

Thanks in advance.

Computer Details
    bill_borec's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 - 64 Bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS
    CPU:
    Intel i7-2600
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon HD 6700
    Monitor:
    Dual 24"s
    Discipline
    Civil
    bill_borec's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil PE
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details